US of swarms - Warhammer 40K Fantasy

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: US of swarms

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    120
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    5 (x1)

    US of swarms

    two quick questions.
    What are the US of swarms?
    and
    For flank charges, do you still get +1 CR if you're under US 5


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements

  3. #2
    Dethskullz Warboss Morden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Age
    31
    Posts
    1,245
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    211 (x5)

    Quote Originally Posted by nbp71
    two quick questions.
    What are the US of swarms?
    and
    For flank charges, do you still get +1 CR if you're under US 5

    A) us of swarms are 3

    yes get +1 for flank charge but you dont take away his ranks bonues tho.

    hope that helps
    Cheers

  4. #3
    Senior Member aufde's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Hartford, WI
    Age
    27
    Posts
    264
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    -18 (x0)

    Quote Originally Posted by Morden
    yes get +1 for flank charge but you dont take away his ranks bonues tho.

    hope that helps
    Cheers
    If a swarm flanks with a unit strength of less than five, then they do not negate ranks and do not get the +1 bonus for flanking.

    If the swarm has US of 5 or more, it negates ranks and gets+1 combat res. It doesn't say anywhere that I could find in the rulebook that swarms get any exeptions for flanking. They are treated as normal units of the same US. Please point out which page it is on if I missed it.
    <-- that room over there in my avatar is full of people who think you are funny...BURN...

    "There are some who call me...Tim?" - Tim the Enchanter

    The early bird may get the worm, but the second mouse gets the cheese.

  5. #4
    Senior Member §ilent§torm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Age
    29
    Posts
    746
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    20 (x2)

    As said, swarms are US 3 per base and do not get +1 flank bonus if they are below US 5.

    Most swarms are skirmishers as well, and so cannot negate ranks. The exceptions are spirit hosts and snotlings, who both rank up for some reason.. I believe that's it, there might be one I'm forgetting.
    Everyone's entitled to their own opinion, even if it's wrong.

  6. #5
    Son of LO Wolf_Pack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Age
    29
    Posts
    4,630
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    150 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by §ilent§torm
    As said, swarms are US 3 per base and do not get +1 flank bonus if they are below US 5.

    Most swarms are skirmishers as well, and so cannot negate ranks. The exceptions are spirit hosts and snotlings, who both rank up for some reason.. I believe that's it, there might be one I'm forgetting.
    you are right.
    Best Regards,
    Wolf_Pack

  7. #6
    Senior Member Colonel_Kraken's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    City among the seven mountains, Norway
    Age
    30
    Posts
    814
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    2 (x2)

    I just thought I'd clear up one very commonly misunderstood detail. A unit MUST have unit strength 5+ to recieve the +1 combat resolution bonus for flanking. The same naturally applies to the rear bonus.
    I kill two dwarves in the morning, I kill two dwarves at night. I kill two dwarves in the afternoon, and then I feel allright. I kill two dwarves in time of peace, and two in time of war. I kill two dwarves before I kill two dwarves, and then I kill two more.

    Goblin kroozade of revengyness: win:19 draw:10 loss:9

  8. #7
    /botnobot/ DavidWC09's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Wayward, Texas
    Posts
    12,489
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    1283 (x8)

    Not all swarms are US 3. For instance, bat swarms are flyers and therefore have a US of 1. The rule books for each army will give the US.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts