Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Does anyone know how magic works in an allied game? Would you have a pile of power and dispel dice each, or a combined one? And can you dispel magic that's targeted on an allied unit?
There are various ways to do it, but perhaps one of the fairest is to keep each army's spellcasting capability separate. Each army has it's own power dice and it's own dispel dice (and each get their own 2PD and 2DD basic), but each army can only use their own power dice for their spells. You can't pass power dice to your ally or use magic items (like power stones) to augment your allies spells.
When it comes to dispelling, things are slighly different. Because armies tend to have less dispel dice than power dice, you could allow dispel dice to be combined. Each allied force can use it's combined dispel dice pool against spells from any of it's opponents. This way, each allied force has to decide whether to use their dispel dice to make sure that certain spells aren't cast from a particular opponent, or spread their dice out against all the spells that the enemy allied forces are likely to throw at them.
Of course, all this only works if you've got equal allies on each side. Two vs two for example. If it's one large army against an allied force of two or three armies, then something else will have to be worked out.
Last edited by Tzeentch_Lord; May 27th, 2005 at 13:11.
"Peace, through superior firepower."
You get 2 DD starting.Originally Posted by Tzeentch_Lord
How I usually play it in a free for all game, each person uses his/her own power dice for their own spells, and any one person can attempt to dispel it with their own dispel dice, but only one person. So three people can't attempt a dispel on the same spell.
The dispel and power dice come back after everyone has had a turn(start with them at the beginning of the game). If you choose to use all of your dispel dice on the first persons magic phase, then you have to wait until the person who went first to have a turn again before you have more dispel dice.
Hope that helps. If anything is unclear, post back.
<-- that room over there in my avatar is full of people who think you are funny...BURN...
"There are some who call me...Tim?" - Tim the Enchanter
The early bird may get the worm, but the second mouse gets the cheese.
Ah yes, of course you do, doh! Editing...Originally Posted by aufde
I was thinking of the 1DD you get for each 1st and 2nd level wizard in the army. My mistake.
"Peace, through superior firepower."
Thanks, I don't play multiplayer games a lot, so when I did the game was ruined by several people teaming up their magic against a single opponent (we all had separate dispel die). These rules seem to make pretty much sense to me.
My friends and i have thought about this dilema for a while now, seeing as we play 2 vs. 1 games all the time, and the ways we have done it is to:Originally Posted by Tzeentch_Lord
1. The player who is by himself gets +3 extra dispell dice, as to simulate another army plus an extra level one mage. THe other players use magic as usual.
2. Another way to do it is to have only one of the allied armys use magic.
3. Another way is to have the allied team have a common power dice pool, this offsets the imbalance.
We have tried all 3, and right now the most common one is the third, however i like the first the best. (i play dwarfs, so usually with the plus three dispel dice, my 7 plus 2 for a runesmith with rune of balance usually is enough, even for high elves)
Mr. Burns: Why is everyone being so insolent today?
Smithers: Well sir, it is christmas...
Mr. Burns: I'll decide when its christmas!