Have a game coming up vs the Dwarf Slayer List. Magic Resistance Question? - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Age
    47
    Posts
    247
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    32 (x1)

    Have a game coming up vs the Dwarf Slayer List. Magic Resistance Question?

    The slayers have a magic rune that can be taken by multiple characters. This rune affects all spells with"6 of the bearer, gaining +1 magic resistance. Lets say he has two dwarf characters and they each have one of these runes. Both characters will be in separate units and a unit of slayers will be in the middle of them. Now since both characters have the rune and spell cast at the center unit will be within 6" of both characters. How many extra dice are rolled due to magic resistance. I would assume the answer is 2 one for each character, but I'm not sure if Magic Resistance Stacks or not. I have looked in the SOC FAQ and BRB, but can't find any answer. Does anyone know?

    eagletsi

    Reason I ask is I just found out the Dwarf Player did this to a Ogre Kingdoms army a few weeks ago. He gave every character a rune and kept them all tight together. At one point claiming 5 extra dispel dice for a spell cast at his unit. Is this correct?

    eagletsi


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Tabletop Terraformer Tzeentch Lord's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    UK
    Age
    35
    Posts
    1,405
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    109 (x4)

    Normally Magic Resistance (MR) does not stack. If you had a unit that had MR(2) and that unit had a magic banner that gave MR(1), you would not get three extra dispel dice against spells cast at that unit. You would in fact use the highest of all the values and get that many extra dispel dice (so 2 in this example).

    So after reading the entry for Wards of Grimnir (which is the item you're referring to) in the Storm of Chaos book, they appear to be normal MR(1), but with the added bonus that it can be used against spells within 6" of the bearer. This dwarf player was therefore cheating by claiming 5 extra dispel dice, because even these Wards of Grimnir do not stack with other Wards or with normal MR.

    Remember though that MR can be used against each spell that directly affects a target under it's protection. So the only advantage of taking more than one Ward of Grimnir is so a player can spread his heroes out and cover more of the army with the magic resistance they provide.
    "Peace, through superior firepower."

  4. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Age
    47
    Posts
    247
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    32 (x1)

    Where is it stated that is does not stack?

    Because I need proof, when I show up to play. Otherwise, there will be an argument.

    eagletsi

  5. #4
    Senior Member Teron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    947
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    26 (x2)

    Don't play against those types of players...

    I know it's cliche, but it works.
    Use Light, Beasts, Metal instead of Heavens
    NecroLords: Use at least one Death Mage
    Brets: Use Peasants&Damsels
    Skaven: Don't use Skryre SAD

  6. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Age
    47
    Posts
    247
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    32 (x1)

    Unfortunetly, He's in my League, so I have no choice.

    Thats why I want to present documented evidence that Magic Resistance doesn't stack. So everyone in the League will know it also.

    eagletsi

  7. #6
    Tabletop Terraformer Tzeentch Lord's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    UK
    Age
    35
    Posts
    1,405
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    109 (x4)

    No problem, the ruling is in the Direwolves FAQ and here's a link to it:
    Magic FAQ
    Scroll down (past halfway) until you find this little bit;
    Q. If a unit has multiple sources of Magic Resistance (e.g. MR(1)
    from a character and MR(2) from a magic banner) do we add the
    sources together for the MR value to apply or do we simply
    apply the highest value?

    A. Apply the highest value.
    S. Gav Thorpe - Warhammer Design Team


    If your opponent(s) are anal about this stuff, I recommend that you print off the whole Magic FAQ (I get free printing at university, so I've abused my priviledge and printed the entire rules FAQ!) to show them that you haven't just made it up!
    "Peace, through superior firepower."

  8. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Age
    47
    Posts
    247
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    32 (x1)

    Hey Thanks, I found something even better in the FAQ take a look

    Q. Regarding spells which affect all enemy units in sight, within
    a defined range, and/or on the battlefield, etc. (e.g. Storm of
    Cronos, Drain Life, Fog of Death, etc.) do units with Magic
    Resistance get to add their dispel dice to any attempts to dispel
    these spells?

    A. If a unit with Magic Resistance is a potential target for one
    of these spells its Magic Resistance may be used. If multiple
    units with Magic Resistance are targeted, use the highest Magic
    Resistance value, NOT all of them added together.
    S. Warhammer Chronicles 2004 page 115

    Bingo, Now I'm Happy.


    Can't wait to show this to my group.

    Thanks,

    I will post a report after the battle. It should be sometime next week

    eagletsi

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts