Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
If you win combat can you reform ranks? Exsample: I have a unit of 20 bowmen in two ranks of ten they win combat, enemy dont retreat, Can I chose to reform my ranks in to five ranks of four?
From the rulebook (page 77), as far as I can tell, you can only Expand Frontage and not reduce it. So you could do the opposite of your scenario, change from five ranks to two, but you can't change from two ranks to five. I think the idea is to encourage you to get more models fighting rather than less. Obviously though, this is the opposite of what you want for archers! Sorry, but that seems to be the rules...
"Peace, through superior firepower."
I don't have a rulebook handy- what if you're flanked in that situation? Technically, it would only be good against skirmishers where you can still get ranks, but you are getting more models into the combat.
Everyone's entitled to their own opinion, even if it's wrong.