Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
So chariots only have unit strength of 4 so that means if i charged i units flank or back with it i wouldnt negate their ranks right? In a different senario lets say that i charged 2 great eagles on the back of a unit would i combine their to unit strengths of 3 to give me unit strength of 6 total, would i then negate ranks?
No. Flyers count as skirmishers and as such cannot negate ranks, if it was a ridden monster (ie dragon + rider) then yes.
The question is slightly different from what you're interpreting I think, KU (at least the second part). Great eagles are US3 each (starting wounds = US, as they are monsters). The question is: would 2 great eagles in a rear / flank allow you to claim rear / flank bonus and therefore negate rank bonus of an opposing unit? Now that's an interesting one... one that I'll have to look up tonight in the WHFB BRB. My gut hunch is that it should work.
The iron crowned is getting closer,
Swings his hammer down on him,
Like a thunderstorm he's crushing,
Down the Noldor's proudest king.
Under my foot, so hopeless it seems.
You've troubled my day, now feel the pain.
- Blind Guardian
It says in the rulebook that to gain the flank/rear bonus (and to negate ranks) "the unit must be US5 or more". Technically, it says the unit, as in singular, but that's taking the wording of rules to the limit really! It doesn't specifically state as such (that I can see anyway) that it must be a single unit with a US of 5+ to gain the bonus, so I can't see why you couldn't use multiple units attacking the same flank or rear in order to gain the bonuses. If you think about it, five models with US1 each is the same weight of bodies as one unit with a US5!
So, as long as the total US of your models attacking an enemy flank/rear is 5 or more, you can gain the bonuses and (assuming none of them are skirmishers) negate the ranks.
"Peace, through superior firepower."