Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Theres no shortage of ambiguity to the warhammer fantasy rules and magic probably one of the best examples. To this day its pretty fuzzy to me what you can and cannot get away with in close combat magic-wise. I've read what direwolf has to say about the situation and even they leave it open for debate. If you can cast in close combat what are the exact restrictions? Does the spell have to say, "______ may even be cast in close combat" or "_______ may be cast INTO close combat" or as long as it doesn't say "______ effects target unengaged unit". If you do need line of sight to cast it, I would assume you can see the unit your engaged with at least ? If you are a large target and not engaged with a large target as well can you cast out of that close combat with a line of sight spell into a unit you can see? If its true that you can cast in close combat doesnt it make certain spells incredibly powerful such as the necromancy spell that heals wounds or even again something like a comet that isnt a magic missle nor does it target a unit or require them to be unengaged?
I play it like this: you normally can't cast into combat, unless it says you can. This is clearly explained in the rulebook one page 135 under "casting spells"This is a good point, and I never thought of it that way. This has never come up in a game, and I don't know if it can(I don't think there are monstrous creatures that can cast, but I may be wrong). I would think you could if this would ever happen, I can't find anything in the rule book to go against it.If you are a large target and not engaged with a large target as well can you cast out of that close combat with a line of sight spell into a unit you can see?
<-- that room over there in my avatar is full of people who think you are funny...BURN...
"There are some who call me...Tim?" - Tim the Enchanter
The early bird may get the worm, but the second mouse gets the cheese.
You can cast spells in close combat. With one exception, no magic missles. The only unit you have line of sight with is the unit you are in egaged with though (except with the large traget thing from before). So if a spell needs to target an unegaged unit you can't cast it. Spells that don't require line of sight, for example, the lame lore of heavens you can cast anywhere still, as long as it is not a magic missle. This is to the best of my knowledge how it works.