Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I recently purchased the Ogre Kingdoms book to help bolster my Gnoblar warband, and I feel that a Giant (or Slavegiant in this case) would be pretty sweet. I have a few questions, though.
In the "Pick up and...." option, there are several possibilities that I am curious about...
The "Squash" option says that if the option is rolled, the model is removed as a casualty... simply that. Does the squashed model get a ward save?
That question also applies to the "Throw Back into Unit" option. The thrown model is tossed back into the unit, and receives an automatic wound. Same for the "Hurl" option. Does that model get a ward save as well?
"Eat" as well.......
Any ideas as to whether or not ward saves work? Any help would be much appreciated.
i dont know much about giants (nothing actually) but i imagine that you would still get a ward save, i dont see how a giant throwing you would mess with the cosmic magical forces that are protecting you, i think that there are only a couple (if any) thing in the game that take away ward saves, giants (as good as they are) are not one of them.
Mr. Burns: Why is everyone being so insolent today?
Smithers: Well sir, it is christmas...
Mr. Burns: I'll decide when its christmas!
I'm pretty sure the character can take ward saves, things like giants are the reason ward saves were made :p
Unless is specicifcally states so I think ward saves can be taken.
"Heresy is like a garden weed, it won't stop feeding until you... BURN THE WHOLE DAMN GARDEN WITH A FLAMER, BURN IT, BURN IT TO HELL!!!!!" "Is there a wittle puppy in the garden? ITS A DAEMON! BURN IT!"
After reading the rules for Giants (from the Beasts of Chaos book, but it's basically the same thing) and Ward saves (from the rulebook), it seems to me that for Squash and Eat, a victim would not get a Ward save.Originally Posted by untitledmike
My reasoning for this is that the rules for these two giant attacks simply say that the 'model becomes a casualty' and 'the model is removed from the game', no actual wounds are caused. The rulebook then states that a model may 'make one ward save against each wound it has suffered'. Since those two effects from the giant don't cause any wounds as such (they simply remove the model from the game), I doubt you'd get a ward save against them.
Unfortunately, this is following the very letter of the rules and is slightly rules-lawyering.
However, this logic also applies to the Stuff into Bag result. This effect doesn't actually harm the victim, it just incapacitates them, and since no harm is done, there's nothing that would trigger the ward.This effect is slightly different, I'm sure you would get a ward save against this because it actually says that it 'causes a wound on the victim'. Although it does also say 'with no saves allowed', but whether that includes wards is open to interpretation (unless there's a FAQ for this).Originally Posted by untitledmike
"Peace, through superior firepower."
What Tzeentch_Lord said is absolutely correct (the OK giant doesn't vary in it's attacks from the O&G or BoC variants here), as the model is removed from play as a casualty. No wounds are spoken of, so therefore armour and ward saves do not apply, nor does regeneration.
The iron crowned is getting closer,
Swings his hammer down on him,
Like a thunderstorm he's crushing,
Down the Noldor's proudest king.
Under my foot, so hopeless it seems.
You've troubled my day, now feel the pain.
- Blind Guardian