Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
My friend and I were finding out the saves of all our units just now, and we are wondering about the save a hand weapon gives. In the rule book, it says that a unit with a hand weapon and shield gives +1 to your save. Does this mean +1 save for the hand weapon and +1 for the shield, or +1 for the two of them together? Also, what save bonus is there for a model with 2 hand weps?
+1 save for a shield and then another +1 save for the hand weapon/shield. 2 Hand weapons gives you +1 attack
Last edited by sithjack; July 5th, 2005 at 19:44.
Veni Vidi Variant
I came, I saw, I got a different type of Leman Russ.
The spikey ones go faster.
98% of the teen population has smoked weed, the other 2% went straight to crack.
Saga of the Ages. Click it.
Rules for grenades are on page 72 of the rulebook.
Someone please explain to me in English what i asked in the rule book it says when u have a hand weapon and a shield and fight in close combat it increases your save no further than +1.
Now, J. G. Caesar, that means that if you have heavy armor shield and HW, you get a 3+ save in close combat, and if you have ligh armor, shield and HW you get a 4+save in CC.
There is one thing I was wondering about regarding the HW+Shield Save. Is that all units, rather than just those on foot. Sorry I don't have my rulebook, but I was just thinking about chosen chaos knights that would have a 0+ save in close combat.
On a second note, do you get the +1 for a hand weapon and a shild if you use a magic shield or magic weapon, or both?
Last edited by Grand Master Overcannon; June 28th, 2005 at 23:30.
Where's your Baritone Saxophone?
Right, lets clear this up shall we, though I'm sure I've explained this somewhere before...
A shield gives you +1 to your armour save. If you are using a hand weapon with that shield, you get an additional +1, on top of what the shield normally gives you (EDIT: but this only applies in close combat).
So say you have a warrior wearing light armour, he has a 6+ save for that. Then you hand him a shield, his armour save is now 5+. If you also gave him a hand weapon, his total save would now be 4+ while engaged in close combat (5+ while not in combat).
However, if you took away his hand weapon and gave him a spear instead, his save would drop back to 5+, because he's no longer using a hand weapon with his shield.
So a warrior with heavy armour, shield and hand weapon would have a rather tasty save of 3+ (which is why my chaos warriors use hand weapons and shields!).
Does that make sense to everyone?
There are, of course, a couple more things regarding this save business;
First, the additional bonus you get for using a hand weapon with a shield only applies if you are on foot. Mounted troops do not get it, so normally, the best they can get is a 1+ save (which is damn well good enough I'd say! 0+ saves, honestly... :huh: ).
Second, the bonus does not apply if you have either a magic shield, a magic weapon, or both. In order to get the bonus, the warrior must be on foot and using a mundane shield and a normal hand weapon.
Last edited by Tzeentch Lord; September 13th, 2005 at 12:10. Reason: bald inquisitor's observation!
"Peace, through superior firepower."
umm the hand wep and shield combo only works in CC, the empire swordsmen aren't jedi after all :p
"Heresy is like a garden weed, it won't stop feeding until you... BURN THE WHOLE DAMN GARDEN WITH A FLAMER, BURN IT, BURN IT TO HELL!!!!!" "Is there a wittle puppy in the garden? ITS A DAEMON! BURN IT!"
Yes, good point, I should've thought of that! Post edited for completeness.
"Peace, through superior firepower."