Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Im not really getting it. I think it means... ONCE for every wound taking (exept for fire of course) u role a die after the attack and on a 4+ u dont loose the wound... so for a stirgoi count with COTR it is like accually having (potencially) 6 wounds. Now does this work like if all in 1 turn i loose all 3 wounds say for example to a hellblaster volley gun, and i failes all my ward saves i would then roll 3 die and get as many wounds back as i rolled 4 +.
question 2. is shooting different when u shoot at the flank or rear of something b/c i read an article on another website that gave the immperssion it did but i have never read a rule on it.
question 3. when engage a unit in CC and u are not lined up... say for example, only your coner guys where touching... as shown here XXXXXXXX
do u then slide over to get most models possible for attacks.
question 4. do u get a free wheel to line up as parrallel to the opposing unit that u are about to charge.
tnks in advance and EXTREMELY sorry for all the quesions.
Last edited by Imperial_Might001; July 6th, 2005 at 04:52.
It's quite simple, and nothing like having double your wounds.Originally Posted by Imperial_Might001
Once all wounds have been dealt and the combat is over, the regenerating creature can try and regenerate any wounds it has suffered. So a 3 wound creature that has suffered two wounds in the fight, can roll two dice (one for each wound it suffered) and any dice that score 4+ means a wound has been regenerated. So continuing the example, if the creature scored 2 and 5 on those two dice, only one wound would have been regenerated, leaving it with two wounds.
Remember though that there is only ever one chance to regenerate a lost wound, so our creature can only ever regenerate two wounds now, because it's only got two left.
If a creature suffers more wounds from an attack (such as from a Hellblaster) than it actually has, it can still try to regenerate all of them. If our 3 wound creature suffered 5 wounds from an attack, it rolls 5 dice to regenerate. Obviously though it needs to roll at least 3 4+'s to stay alive...Nope, for most missile attacks, shooting at the flank or rear of a unit makes no difference whatsoever. The only missile weapon that I know of which would be affected by this, is the Dwarf Goblin-Hewer. Check the rules for it if you ever face or use one.Originally Posted by Imperial_Might001Because the rules state that you must do everything possible to get the most models into combat, if the two units end up 'clipping' each other's corners, you can slide the units sideways a bit. As stated in the rules commentary at the back of the rulebook, this isn't technically allowed, but it's an acceptable solution to avoid the evil clipping. Just make sure both you and your opponent are aware of how this works before the game starts and that you both agree on it!Originally Posted by Imperial_Might001
If you've got all possible models in combat, but some of them are only touching by corners (usually only one or two models), you don't need to do anything else because corners count for base contact.No, you have to use movement to line your unit up so it can draw a straight line towards the target unit in order to charge it (normally, you only charge in a straight line). Once in contact with an enemy unit, only then do you get a free wheel to get as many models in contact as possible.Originally Posted by Imperial_Might001
Last edited by Tzeentch Lord; July 6th, 2005 at 11:47. Reason: added a few things for clarity
"Peace, through superior firepower."
o, can u try to regenrate your wounds more than once... or is it a 1 time thing? and if u had a wound previosly and then u take another 2 on a different turn, do u role 3 die or do u just role the 2?
tnks in advance
Last edited by Imperial_Might001; July 6th, 2005 at 15:16.
You only ever get one chance to regenerate a wound, and that's immediately after it was caused. So once a creature suffers a wound and fails to regenerate it, that's that, it's now stuck on however many wounds it's got left (unless it can have them restored by some magical effect or something). However, when regenerating, you always roll as many dice as the creature suffered wounds, not how many wounds it has left.
For example, a Troll has three wounds, it suffers two wounding hits in a fight, so it rolls two dice but only manages to regenerate one wound. The troll is now left with two wounds for the rest of the game, there's no way it can get it's third wound back.
So say it suffers four wounds in a second fight, even though it's technically dead it rolls four dice to regenerate (because it took four wounding hits). The troll would need to regenerate at least three of those wounding hits to stay alive because it's only got two wounds left.
If it scores 4+ on three dice, it regenerates enough wounds to stay alive with one wound remaining. If it regenerates all four wounds, it stays standing with two wounds remaining (because it's third wound was lost in a previous fight and it failed to regenerate it).
I hope that makes sense and answers your question!
Last edited by Tzeentch Lord; July 7th, 2005 at 08:13.
"Peace, through superior firepower."
yup, thanks for the help.
I think this is incorrect, Tzeentch Lord. Looking at BRB pp. 52-53, I see that during a charge a unit can only wheel once. One sentence reads, "Once a unit has completed any required wheel it is moved straight forward towards the enemy and stops as soon as the two units touch." From that statement, it's clear that the wheel can occur before the units are in contact.Originally Posted by Tzeentch Lord
Furthermore, on p. 53 in the left column is a graphic insert stating that aligning units in combat is free and can result in a model moving more than its usual charge range. Also, this movement is not referred to as a wheel, simply as an alignment. This is important because you can wheel once in the charge and then align once in contact with the enemy.
So you can wheel at any point in the charge, but only once.
I haven't read through all of the responces, but in case of something that does a d3 or d6 amount of wounds, such as a cannon or a bolt thrower, you still get to roll a regeneration dice for the total amount of wounds rolled. For example if a cannon hits a troll and rolls a 6 for the amount of wounds it inflicts, you get to attempt to regenerate all 6 and roll 6 dice and on a 4+ you 'negate' one of the wounds inflicted.
Hmm, perhaps I wasn't as clear as I should have been. This is what I meant;Originally Posted by DavidVC04
No, you have to use movement to line your unit up
I probably should have mentioned here that this means a single wheel to line up against the intended target, since no other maneuvers are permitted during a charge. A charging unit cannot turn or reform for example.
so it can draw a straight line towards the target unit in order to charge it
Once the unit has wheeled (if necessary) and can now draw a line towards the target unit, it moves directly forward and contacts the enemy.
Once in contact with an enemy unit, only then do you get a free wheel to get as many models in contact as possible.
An alignment is what I meant by a 'free wheel'. If the charging unit contacts the enemy unit at an angle and only the corner of the charging unit is touching the enemy unit, the rest of the charging unit must be wheeled forward so that all of the charging unit comes into contact with the enemy. This is to ensure that as many models as possible get into contact in order to fight (as I said before), and this alignment/free wheel is, well, free and doesn't cost any movement, whereas the one permitted normal wheel does.
"Peace, through superior firepower."