Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
If you have a character with BS-6, S-4 & A-3 and you give it a Longbow, does it get to shoot three arrows at BS-6 & S-4 or does it only get to shoot one arrow per shooting phase?
Also can it have a Longbow and a Great Weapon at the same time, only use one at a time? Like useing the Longbow if not in HTH and useing the Great Weapon if in HTH :rolleyes:
The attack characteristic of models never affects how many times someone can shoot. Unless the weapon they are using states that it has multiple shots, each model (including characters) can only ever shoot once in the shooting phase. Also, shots are worked out at the strength of the weapon itself (3 for all bows, 4 for crossbow), not the strength of the character. The only exception to this is thrown weapons, these use the strength of the model that threw it (sometimes with a modifier, +1 for throwing axes for example).
Of course, if you're in combat, you can't shoot, which brings us to your second question. Yes, a character can have a longbow and a great weapon (or whatever). They can use the longbow to shoot when not in combat, and their weapon to attack when in combat.
"Peace, through superior firepower."
Ok, I think I understand now. High Elf character shooting with non-magic Longbow, one shot at S-3 and if in HTH with any weapon three attacks at S-4, plus any modifiers that can effect either phase.
As always, Tzeenth Lord is on top of a rules reading. He reminds me of my friend, Todd, who knows all the army books, rule book, and chronicles by heart.Originally Posted by Tzeentch Lord
The only thing I can add is that models with pistols (maybe handguns, too?) can fire in close combat. In the first round of combat, they get one attack at the pistol's strength with an armor-piercing bonus. If they have a brace of pistols, then [bold]all[/bold] attacks are at the pistols stats, armor-piercing included. Beginning the second round, the pistols lose effect and count simply as one or two hand weapons accordingly.
As for your final conclusion for high elves, hightide, you're right. One shot at Str 3 and X attacks at Str 4.
Thanks for your help again guys.