Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Okay, so my friend says that if he is flanked, he has to fight flanked for one turn, and then in the next turn he can turn around to face me.
I don't have my rulebook on me (I'm on holiday) so could someone please help me out?
Your friend is correct. However, if he flees, he may not turn to face you in the same turn, and if he also has someone attacking his front, he cannot turn the unit, but may turn his models. (Every model does a 90 degrees turn)
Hope this helps.
Last edited by Pierced53; August 5th, 2005 at 16:39.
It depends on what got charged, if it was an individual model on foot or a unit of skirmishers (both of which have no flanks or rear), then as long as they were not engaged against another unit, they simply line up against the unit that charged them.
However, if ranked up units and models that do have flanks and a rear (like monsters and mounted models) get charged in the flank or rear, then the model/unit does not turn to face the enemy that charged them, even in subsequent combat phases. The only thing you can do, after the first combat phase, is move any character models in the unit to the flank or rear that has been engaged, so they can help in the fight.
Models in ranked up units that have been engaged in the flank/rear do not do 90/180-degree turns. The models stay as they are, but can still fight without penalty against enemy behind them or to their sides.
"Peace, through superior firepower."
Something else to consider:
If my unit of skeletons with spears is four deep and gets hit in the flank, then they can not use spears to the side. No ranked unit can.
Models on the side don't turn, but they can attack, unless you kill them off.
A character can move to the side to fight in his remaining moves phase. A unit champion cannot as he is part of the command group and must remain with them.
See the rulebook for other oddities. GW don't make it simple on us, do they?
Last edited by DavidWC09; August 7th, 2005 at 00:33.
nother question, if you don't mind.
If a unit is attacked on its flank, and suffers casualties, do you remove the models in contact with the enemy(on the side of the unit), or from the back as usual?
This is a situation that comes up in most games. Can units that get charged in the flank or rear when not engaged in the front 'turn around' (or as you say, reform) to face the enemy? I didn't think you could, I thought that once a unit has been hit in the flank/rear by an enemy, it stays that way until one side or the other wins that fight.Originally Posted by DavidVC04
For ranked infantry units that need to maintain their formation, this seems logical, but I think that cavalry, mounted characters and monsters (ridden, individual or otherwise) should be allowed to face attackers in their flanks/rear if they aren't already engaged in the front.
As for Pierced's question;
Removing models from the back ranks is only a convenient way of keeping your carefully positioned models in their neat ranks (and keeping your command models in play as well, of course). Technically, models are always removed from where they were killed, so if a unit suffers casualties on it's front rank, the models are removed from there, when attacked in the flank, any casualties caused are removed from the models on the sides. This is important because it affects how many models a target unit has left to strike back at the attackers.
"Peace, through superior firepower."
You know, you're right. I remember this coming up and finding that getting hit in the flank especially sucks because you can't do anything about it.Originally Posted by Tzeentch Lord
I stand corrected.