Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Which mages can pick their spells specifically without just picking the lore and rolling a d6? Ive heard that slann and HE mages are the only ones who can specifically choose which spell they want instead of picking a lore, but my friend says that his greenskin mages can pick specific spells from his 2 lores instead of rolling a d6. Clarification of the rules is greatly appreciated. thanks in advance.
PS. i serched and found a few answers but they werent clear enough so I am just asking for a clarification.
I believe Slann still roll for their spells, but their rules are that they can choose several lores at once (For example, they roll half their dice in fire, one dice in heavens, and one dice in light). As for something High Elves have in common, they both get a bonus to their casting rolls and both get Drain Magic in addition to any other spell, but other than that, they still roll for them.
Very few can choose their own spells. I know Asur mages can, with the aid of an honour. But other races I'm not so sure on, a magic item may allow spells to be chosen but nothing springs to mind.
A Slann can roll on multiple tables. He can decide if likes the spell, and if not, roll in another lore. But yeah, rarely does a model select his own spells.
Edit: Oops! Tzeentch's statement below is right. My statement was made on a remembered game against a Slann. Memory lapse.
Last edited by DavidWC09; August 9th, 2005 at 23:47.
The high elf mages can only choose their own spells if they have the 'seer' honour. This works in much the same way to a magic item. I don't thing that the greenskins can have a virtue of this nature.
A Nechrarch Vampire Lord can avoid rolling for spells, but that is only because it is possible for him to take ALL of the spells in his list at once. Not too shabby if you ask me.
The Slann only have the ability to roll for spells in any and all of the 8 basic lores. Each time the player rolls a dice for his Slann's spells (usually 4 times), he chooses a lore and rolls the dice. He can then take that spell or exchange it for the default spell of that lore. He can't, as David said (sorry mate!), choose to disregard the roll and roll the same dice in a different lore. And of course, if he rolls more than one dice in a particular lore, he can't exchange more than one of those spells for the default spell of that lore (since no wizard can have more than one copy of any spell, not even Slann).
As for choosing spells, according to the normal rules (apart from that High Elf exception) no-one can choose their spells, not even Slann. There is, however, an option to allow yourself and you opponent(s) to choose spells rather than rolling for them. Of course, everyone must agree to this!
"Peace, through superior firepower."
Tzeentch Lord are nearly correct about the Slann, but he must declare how many spells he wants from a deck before rolling, meaning he elect to make one roll on Heavens and got Forked Lightnig, but he also wants Second Sign, then it is to late to make another roll on heavens.
Actually Beast Lord, I am completely correct. To quote the Lizardmen book directly (pg49);
'Pick a list, roll a dice to see what you get, choose the default spell instead if you like and then choose another list or the same one again.'
So the Slann player doesn't have to declare how many spells he wants from each list before rolling any dice, he can decide which lore he wants to roll on for each separate dice roll. I've also checked the FAQ and there's nothing there to support your theory. Sorry dude, I don't know where you've heard that from, but it's wrong.
"Peace, through superior firepower."
But you have to choose whether or not you want the default one before rolling another dice? That's how I'm interpreting your quote, and that could be to a slight disadvantage of the Slaan player (rarely, but it could happen). Good to know how it works though, thanks.
Everyone's entitled to their own opinion, even if it's wrong.