Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
How do you determine the damage a single bolt from a RBT causes against a unit that has a Ward save.
Do you see how many rank/models the bolt wounds first, then roll all of the ward saves at one time or do you roll the ward save after each rank/model is wounded and if so does the ward save stop the bolt at the first rank/model that is saved by the ward save? :huh:
If every model in the unit has an equal ward save, you roll them all at the same time.
i thought you only roll for more ranks if you slay the first model. so if the first model is still alive somehow (like say, passing a ward save) then the bolt can't penetrate to the next rank.
Perhaps you're right, never thought about it that way. But with a cannonball you take ward saves for any models in the path of the cannonball, whether or not the first is slayed. Remember, a Bolt may hit the first rank, that's why you roll to hit. But it may no wound the first model in the way.
I'll look through the rulebook and see what I can dig up.
Thats right, if you are firing a single bolt you work out the damage against the first rank. If a wound s caused the wards save is taken then. If the ward is failed you get to roll against the second rank etc etc. The rules for penetrating with bolt throwers say that the model must be slain before the bolt can carry on.
Helper monkey, bring me beer and donuts