Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
This is probably a very simple question, but it is one that has been bugging me (not having a copy of the rule book handy at the moment):
A model that is armed with a Great Sword always goes last, but what happens when two models armed with Greatswords fight each other?
Or, let's say there's a model with a greatsword and a magic item that makes models in base-to-base contact with it strike last (even if they have abilities that would otherwise make them strike first)--in what order would this combat be resolved?
It then goes in initive order. When both units/characters/monsters etc are entitled to go at the same time (ie armed with GW) then you compare their I value and the highest goes first.
Thanks. Perhaps I can get one more question--completely off the subject--answered as well.
Is a Character allowed to carry more than two hands worth of melee weapons, and are characters always assumed to be armed with a single hand weapon?
For example, if a character can be given a Great weapon (two handed) for x points or an extra hand weapon for y points, can you give it both, use the great weapon on the turn it charges, then switch to a pair of hand weapons in subsequent rounds of combat?
I know Bretonnian knights can pull off a similar trick, charging with lances then switching to swords in the following round, but I don't know whether this is a universal thing or not.
Not how you are thinking of it. At the beginning of combat you must declare what weapon you are using and that is the only one you may use until the combat is other (ie one unit/hero is dead, broken etc)
As to carrying more than one weapon, it's not usually possible. But should the options say something like -Then as it says and then yes. Otherwise no.may have a GW at x pts and/or an extra hand weapon for xpts
(*NB* I know of no character that hase these options, it's just an example. *NB*)
With Lances Being the exception, and only being used on the turn on which you charge.Originally Posted by King Ulrik Flamebeard
Alright, makes sense. Thanks.
Wait, when two units with greatweapons fight each other, they roll off. Dont they? I'm pretty sure that in this case its a roll off, regardless of initiative. Using a greatsword basically ignores that you have initiative, at this points its just who hits first, not who is faster. (And the reason it is initiative order when two models have "go first" is because its in their rules to go at initiative order. In this situation it doesn't say to go initiative order in the items rule)
As for the equipment options, a model is always assumed to be equipped with a single hand weapon, even if he has a greatsword. But you can't ever change weapons in combat (I'm sure of that, so if you charge with a great weapon, you continue to fight with a greatweapon).If the brettonians can change to swords after charging (only if from special rules), then fine. But just don't let them say they have a parry bonus, only models on foot get that.
Aristone - Nope, with striking last it does in I order. Then whoever won last round of combat and afterwards if still not decided it's a dice roll off. So..
If unit a with GWs fight Unit B with GWs, first thing is -
check I value. The highest goes first, if still a draw you then...
Decide who won last round of combat, and they go first. If it was a draw or someother reason you then..
roll off, highest goes first.
Thank God for the search function!Originally Posted by King Ulrik Flamebeard
My only question is: can you tell me where you found this? Does it specifically state that it applies to great weapons?
Thanks in advance!!!
Ah, our brilliant President:
"Those who enter the country illegally violate the law." â€”George W. Bush, Tucson, Ariz., Nov. 28, 2005
"Wow! Brazil is big." â€”George W. Bush, after being shown a map of Brazil by Brazilian president Luiz Inacio Lula da Silva, Brasilia, Brazil, Nov. 6, 2005
BRB Page 68 under "Who Strikes First?", last paragraph.