Marching Skirmishers - Warhammer 40K Fantasy

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    LO Zealot MobiusPrime's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Ohio
    Age
    34
    Posts
    1,503
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    86 (x4)

    Marching Skirmishers

    My gaming group is kinda half and half on this, I was wondering if anyone can help.

    Skirmishers cannot be March Blocked because they don't march, they 'double time' or 'quick step' (or whatever else you wanna call it, but they don't march).

    Marching units cannot fire missile weapons (bows, guns, etc).

    Can Skirmishers fire missile weapons in a turn where they 'double time' since they technically aren't marching?


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements

  3. #2
    Senior Member Teron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    947
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    26 (x2)

    I'd say that they can.
    Use Light, Beasts, Metal instead of Heavens
    NecroLords: Use at least one Death Mage
    Brets: Use Peasants&Damsels
    Skaven: Don't use Skryre SAD

  4. #3
    Son of LO Pierced53's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Hertfordshire, UK
    Posts
    2,051
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    222 (x7)

    From a fluffy perspective, marching units cannot fire missile weapons due to moving so much, they wouldn't have time to fire the weapons. However, IMO, Skirmishers are made out to be quick, and agile, so perhaps they could be quicker on their feet, and would have time to fire.
    So, from a fluffy view, I'd say yes, they can.

  5. #4
    /botnobot/ DavidWC09's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Wayward, Texas
    Posts
    12,489
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    1283 (x8)

    The rules state that no units can march and shoot, period. I don't even know of any instances where special rules allow for marching and shooting. Most units that move and shoot take a penalty of -1. Depending on the weapon, a unit may not be allowed to even move and shoot, much less march and shoot. Some elite troops, like the new wood elves, can move and shoot without penalty.

    Skirmishers with missile weapons will almost always be able to move and shoot, but never march and shoot.

  6. #5
    LO Zealot MobiusPrime's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Ohio
    Age
    34
    Posts
    1,503
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    86 (x4)

    But Skirmishers don't 'March'. Hence my question.

  7. #6
    /botnobot/ DavidWC09's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Wayward, Texas
    Posts
    12,489
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    1283 (x8)

    Okay, let me rephrase. Skirmishers may not double-time and shoot. See page 115 BRB, second column, "Shooting and Moving."

    Page 115 also explains line of sight and shooting and movement penalties for shooting, running onto page 116.

  8. #7
    Senior Member §ilent§torm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Age
    29
    Posts
    746
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    20 (x2)

    That is correct, skirmishers may only move their base movement and shoot, unless the unit has its own special rule. If I remember correctly, the wording is something like they always move double their movement value, but may only shoot if they go at half speed. It seems way to complicated, but basically, they shoot like other units.
    Everyone's entitled to their own opinion, even if it's wrong.

  9. #8
    LO Zealot MobiusPrime's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Ohio
    Age
    34
    Posts
    1,503
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    86 (x4)

    Thanks David. Now with a page reference, I can put the rule into stone up at the gaming club to stop confusion.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts