Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Ok this is the setup to my questions:
6 High Elf Knights & some kind of elf character with the unit charged my Helblaster but were not in range and thus left themselves perfectly open to be obliterated. I fired on them in my turn and scored more than twice as many wounds as the unit had total. Everything was fine until that point but then my opponent said that his character survived due to the look out sir rule. This seems pretty rediculous due to the number of wounds caused but the questions is, is this legal?
Thanks in advance!
Last edited by WildStoats; August 14th, 2005 at 16:18.
Wildstoats, I love your username. That's great.
As to your question, I've had the same one. I kind of remember what my rule-savvy buddy, Todd, said, and I think that a character can survive. But then again, I've wondered if that seemed plausible or not.
So I don't know, but I hope someone pops on and answers the question for us.
I don't know the answer to the question, (sorry).
However, I must inform you its Helblaster, with one "l", not Hellblaster.
As far as I know, it works like this;
The Helblaster doesn't have a template like a mortar, or a line of trajectory like a cannon, it simply deals a certain number of hits to the target unit. These hits are distributed like normal shooting (as from archers for example), because of this only rank and file get hit, characters are not hit even if the attack does more wounds than there are rank-and-file to kill.
It might be slighly unrealistic, but it's much simpler than working out how many shots hit the troops and how many hit the character, etc... Also, if you've managed to destroy someone's entire unit, it's a bit unsporting to be able to automatically kill their character as well! Of course, the character will be on his own in the following turns, probably very near to the enemy lines, and a perfect target for the next round of shooting (which he can't escape this time!).
"Peace, through superior firepower."
Gotcha, well it was just kind of unfortunate at the time because my Helblaster was kind of off on it's own and on the next turn the elf character ran my Helblaster crew off the field. Doh....lesson learned though I guess. Thanks everyone!
I agree. Even though the character is part of the unit doesn't mean he is the unit. Yeah I know its unrealistic, but I can imagine all the calvary shielding there horses and them selfs to protect their beloved hero against dangerous artilery fire.Originally Posted by Tzeentch Lord
Join the Musician Corps. LO's finest
The Musician Clan
The Star Wars Clan
GET ER DONE!
Yeah, that's what I thought too, but was unsure. Always good to hear from others.