Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I was on this forum a while ago reading something about not being able to target single models outside a unit if it is roughly the same size or something. Like when a ratling gun is outside a unit of skaven it couldn't be targeted is what i read. Anyway my mage is next to my skinks and he wants to shoot at it with his archers, can he do it?
Edit: this was posted by Evan8433 but he was logged on to my account.
BOOM! Hur hur hur...
If your mage is on Foot and within 5 inches of 5 or more skinks then "No" he cannot shoot at you. If the wizard is the CLOSEST model to the archers while within 5 inches of 5 or more skinks then YES he can be shot at by the archers.
No, if within 5" of 5 or more models on foot and is not the closest model.
Yes, if within 5" of 5 or more models on foot and the wizard is the closest model to shooters.
This is assuming you aren't refferring to the Big Slann Mage being carried on the Throne. He is totally different.
Is magic diffent though? I forget. If a character is outside of a unit can it be targeted by a magic missile or other magical spell that does not need LOS?
A "Magic Missle" and most spells follow the same rules as shooting. Line of sight and picking targets, etc.Originally Posted by Errant Squire
Some spells will specifically state that you can target ANY model even within a unit.
Thanks, I knew there was a rule for it, now I just have to listen to him complain that the rule is gay while my little mage blasts away at him BTW no it's not the slann, we play 1000pts.
Does it make a difference if the mage is next to skirmirshers or not?
BOOM! Hur hur hur...
Nope. The rule just says within 5" of a friendly unit, etc etc etc.
A little pain never hurt anyone - Larry
The rule is called "proximity to friendly troops." I don't know whether you can use it to protect a character from magic missiles.
"Time is a great teacher, but unfortunately it kills all its pupils." - Hector Berlioz (Musician: 1803 - 1869)
You can use it to shield from magic missiles. Magic missiles (where it actually says that in the spell description) use the same targetting restrictions as normal shooting. What you have to watch out for are damage spells that are not magic missiles.
Everyone's entitled to their own opinion, even if it's wrong.