Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Okay, hear me out.
Let's say a unit of something uber nasty has just reformed to face a unit of my skirmishers.
I want to get out of his charge arc, but let's say through some odd battlefield condition, I can only manage it by moving some of my models around his left side, and some of my models on his right side (like when Bugs Bunny is swimming in a pond, and his ears go around a tree).
At the end of my move, all of my skirmishers are within coherency of each other (which, by the way, what is the coherency limit for skirmishers in Fantasy? In 40K it's 2"). Are you allowed to do that? Break up the movement of a skirmishing unit to get around an obstacle, so long as they maintain coherency at the end of their move?
No, they must travel in the same direction. It'd be like sending have your heavy cavalry around one side of the woods and the remaining riders around the other half. They must maintain unit cohesion. It seems that it'd be rare when skirmishers couldn't all follow one another on a certain route, unless they simply were too spread out and lacked the movement.
As for coherency, I'm not positive on the exact wording, but I believe it's up to 1" apart, so that they are not in base-to-base with each other.
Nice reference on the Bugs Bunny-ear thing, by the way. Painted a clear picture in my mind.
Everyone's entitled to their own opinion, even if it's wrong.
Yeah, but how could they be no more than 1" apart and not break that rule when moving around a model on a 20mm base?Originally Posted by Ā§ilentĀ§torm
For moving around terrain etc, I have always thught skirmishers were able to do the following
Here the unit is now in a horseshoe shape, and all moving towards the top of the picture (As indicated by the black lines).
Now, was they move, the two marked with blue X's get into 1" of each other, allowing the back of the horseho to separate...
The 1" apart rule is stated in the rulebook.
The only way skirmishing units can be broken up is by casualties (ie a template blasts a hole in the center of the unit, seperating the wings). In the next movement phase the unit reforms.
Knape's example looks like it's fine. As for moving around buildings (only buildings, not all terrain), any unit can (and must) adopt a skirmishing formation (if you're playing so that you can enter buildings) and they can move around either side of the building (effectively splitting themselves up, though the must remain near the building; can't remember the exact distance). They cannot split into two to get around an enemy unit.