Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I have a friend who plays Ogres and he says they are NOT immune to Killing Blow. He says that the rule doesn't apply to the Ogres in "Ogre Kingdoms" ALBEIT they apply to the Ogres in other books (Chaos Beasts, Dragon Ogres, etc, etc).
Thoughts on this matter.
"And whoever wants to be a creator in good and evil, must first be an annihilator and break values. Thus the highest evil belongs to the greatest goodness: but this is--being creative."
~ Friedrich Nietzsche ~
He's wrong, I'd say. Yes, the rule was written before the advent of the Ogre Kingdoms, but they're still Ogres, aren't they? Really, he has no grounds to say that they aren't as he really doesn't know (then again, neither do those of us who say they are, though it makes more sense that way). Why he would differentiate between Ogre Kingdoms Ogres and, say, the generic Dogs of War Ogres or Chaos Ogres is beyond me. They're the same species.
It would be like saying that Goblins aren't afraid of any of the Elves because all of the Elven army books were released after the Orcs and Goblins one. Doesn't make any sense.
Then again, maybe the old Ogres are immune to Killing Blow because they all have pewter necks...
It's not a question of wich type of ogre or troll or flying pussywagon (Kill Bill anyone?), it goes by the standard base size for the miniature.Originally Posted by Infrazael Draennonssraav
anything that is man size on foot, and cavalry bases ( use the foot base size for mounted caracters ) this means 20 mm bases (empire for example) and 25 mm bases ( saurus warriors, orcs, etc) are affected by Killing blow.
Anything higher usually called ogre size bases and the 50 mm bases, like swarms and army big guys ( kroxigors, ogres, trolls, snotling pump wagons and amny more) are too massive to cleave in a single blow, and are immune to killing blow.
ogres are immuneto killing blow from most things like man size models and the like. however that does not mean that they are immune to killing blow completely.
take for instance the skaven special character throt the unclean who can killing blow creatures larger that mans size models (50mm bases) however he cannot kb giants and the like
I have a follow up question here: There is a Brettonian Virtue that allows the character to preform a Killing Blow on Large Targets. Since Ogres are immune to the regular KB, but aren't classed as Large Targets, would they fall in between the catagories against a Bret army?
Virtue of Heroism, I think it is. But yes, ogres fall in between that and normal Killing Blow, because they are larger than a man-sized model, and do not have the Large Target special rule. Makes them extremely useful against certain opponents, which is why it's great that they're Dogs of War.
Everyone's entitled to their own opinion, even if it's wrong.