Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I'm sure this one's been gone over lots of times, but I just re-read the rules, and I don't really get it. The chariot includes the chariot model itself (which, let's say, has 4 wounds and toughness 5), the crew (let's say there are two), and the creatures pulling it (let's again say there are two). when I attack it, do I just always hit the chariot and so need to do 4 wounds to kill the thing, at which time the entire thing dies, or can I kill the crew one at a time?
Also, do magic items on a character in a chariot apply to the chariot? (For example, does the Shield of Ghrond make my attack vs the chariot -1S/does a character's ward save apply to the chariot as well?)
Same question, but with ridden monsters: (does SoG make my attacks vs the ridden monster -1S)?
You attack the chariot against the crew's WS, but using the chariot's toughness/wounds/save(s). Crew/riders cannot be singled out and killed, as this gets way too complicated (though you could in previous editions).
Unless the item(s) specifically say they apply to the character AND their mount, only the character gets the benefits granted by magic items. I don't believe the Shield of Ghrond passes over to the chariot, though I don't have the army book in which it is described (Dark Elves, right?). The same ruling goes for monstrous mounts.
Everyone's entitled to their own opinion, even if it's wrong.