magic in close combat and dispelling - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    San Bernardino, CA
    Posts
    27
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    magic in close combat and dispelling

    i have 2 very quick questions.

    1. can you cast non-magic missle spells while your wizard is in hand to hand?

    2. can you use a dispell scroll after a failed attempt to dispell with dice?

    the group i play with keep having arguments over how these rules are to be played because it is not clear in the rule book or in the updates.

    Of all the things I've lost, I miss my mind the most.


    Win/Tie/Loss
    -------------
    Necrons
    10/2/7
    Lizardmen
    3/0/3
    Empire
    1/1/3

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Advocatus Diaboli Rork's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Prowling LO, looking for fresh meat.
    Posts
    4,571
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    476 (x8)

    You can cast spells from combat if:
    They don't affect that combat
    or
    Their description says they can be cast into combat.

    Using a dispel scroll counts as a dispel attempt - you may use one *or* use dice. Not both.


    Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.

    Quote Originally Posted by amishcellphone
    <3 rork. He does all the arguing so I don't have to.

  4. #3
    Tabletop Terraformer Tzeentch Lord's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    UK
    Age
    35
    Posts
    1,405
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    109 (x4)

    The first question was clarified in the Direwolf FAQ (see the Sticky post at the top of this sub-forum), but here's what it said about wizards casting spells while engaged in combat;

    "There is no general rule preventing a Wizard from casting spells while he or his unit is in close combat, but specific spells may not be castable in this situation. Spells specifically defined as "Magic Missiles", for instance, cannot be cast while the Wizard or his unit is engaged in close combat, and some other spells explicitly cover this situation in their description. Further, a spell cannot be cast at a unit in close combat unless its description explicitly allows it to do so and many spells require line of sight. These factors, taken together, generally restrict the available targets for the Wizard's spells.

    Note however, that nowhere in the rules does it state that the act of being engaged in close combat blocks line of sight.....only models and terrain block line of sight. This means that in instances where a Wizard's line of sight is not entirely blocked by other models, the Wizard may still be able to draw line of sight to potential targets. This also means that Wizards who are riding on Large Targets or whom are Large Targets by nature may still be able to draw line of sight to potential targets, even if their frontage is fully occupied by enemy models (who are not also Large Targets)
    ."

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts