Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
If I get an autokill on a multiwound target (with killing blow or a s7+ hit on a war machine, for example), how many points are counted for combat resolution?
If my character on a horse Killing Blows his challenged enemy, does my horse still get to attack and cause more CR?
Yes, the horse still gets to attack.
It works like this. My wight lord has killing blow and he squares off with Saurus Old Blood which has three wounds. They're not in a challenge but both direct their attacks against the other. The wight lord attacks first, rolls for killing blow, and walks away with three points from that single killing blow. Let's say the wight's second attack also lands. It isn't a killing blow but it bypasses the lizardman's saves. According to Annual 2004 (page 83 of my edition), this second blow doesn't count for CR because a model can't suffer more wounds than it started with.
If we change that scenario to a challenge, the wight lord now has a CR of 4, not just 3, because of the Overkill rule. Overkill of 5 can be gotten above and beyond the remaining wounds the model started with. So, in theory at least, a model with three wounds could yield 8 CR to the foe powerful enough to do such havoc.
This is all in one of Gav Thorpe's articles in WD or the chronicles or some such. Can't remember off the top of my head.
What about vs. Chariots and other multi-wound things? Same difference?
What if I land the KB on the second round of fighting, after the Oldblood has already lost a wound? Just +2 CR or the full +3?
Chariots add the full amount of wounds that you contributed by killing it, same as the Oldblood question. For example, if he only had two wounds left, you can't very well inflict three wounds, now can you? So you add the amount of wounds that the character/multi-wound model had before the instant-death attack takes effect. The exception again is challenges, where you can go +5 over the wounds caused.
Everyone's entitled to their own opinion, even if it's wrong.