Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
If a unit of spearelves, which automatically receives a hand weapon, spear, light armor and shield, is charged from the flank, can they fight with the hand weapon & shield and receive a 4+ armor instead of a 5+?
If so can the models not in this flank combat use their spears if they are charged by a second unit from the front and fight in three ranks (less the models in combat in the flank attack).^_^
If this should be in Rules Help please move it.
Elves using spears, light armor and shields only get a 6+ save. An entire unit can only use one weapon per turn, otherwise my skellies would get a 4+ save in the first rank and get the second rank to use their spears.
Hive Fleet Furi Kuri 32/21/4
Tomb Kings: 8/5/2
Im in ur Halo, killin ur covernantz
No, the entire must use the weapon chosen at the beginning of combat, so if engaged to the front and then flanked and the player chooses spears then all must use spears. But if the HWs and Shields were chosen then yes they can use them in the flank.
Also the save for s spearelf is 5+ (shield and LA), and yes if using the HW&S they get the extra save giving them 4+.
This should have been in the rules section.
Thanks KU. That is what I though, but I wanted to be sure and I' m away from home and I don't have my rule book with me.. Sorry for posting in wrong section I realized it after I posted.
One more question. Say the spearelves are charged for the flank and they use HW & Shields for 4+ saves. They lose combat and flee, but they escape. They then rally and regroup. Then they are charged from the front by the same and/or another unit, they can still use their spears in 3 ranks on the frontal change even though they used their HW & Shields before, can't they, because it is a new combat or do they use the same weapon they chose in their first combat for the entire battle.
Correct, it counts as a new combat even if it is the same unit charging you. So you may indeed use the Spears, tho I believe for the first round it would only be the first two ranks as you moved that turn (rallied).
Rallying does not mean you count as moving that turn - you just can't do anything. If they were charged subsequently they would fight as normal in three ranks. Essentially spearelves only fight in two ranks if they charge.Originally Posted by King Ulrik Flamebeard
Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.Originally Posted by amishcellphone
I stand corrected. *mutter* :p
Thanks guys, you have been a big help as before.