Great weapon = Extra weapon? - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Buffalo, NY
    Age
    31
    Posts
    75
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    -2 (x0)

    Great weapon = Extra weapon?

    im playing chaos and since this is a rules question im guessing this is the right forum, if not could u please move this topin to the aprpriate forum

    in the army book for chaos it says that a battle standard bearer cant carry any extra weapons or a shield. would a great weapon be considered an 'extra' weapon. Its two handed so i could see why he would have trouble holding that and a standard, but it isnt necesarrily 'extra' it is still a single weapon.

    so can u have a great weapon or no? thanks in advance


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Lurking in the dark CryoGenFX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Tau, Norway
    Posts
    548
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    33 (x2)

    no, you can't choose a great weapon with the BSB, as it says no extra weapons (as in weapons he does not come with, not extra hand weapon). Since he doesn't come with a great weapon, you can't take one.

    And it would look silly, wouldn't it.

  4. #3
    Tabletop Terraformer Tzeentch Lord's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    UK
    Age
    35
    Posts
    1,405
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    109 (x4)

    Put another way, it means he cannot choose to take any of the weapon options listed for the type of hero that can be the battle standard bearer. Since all heroes come with a single hand weapon, that's the only weapon he can have. So, giving him a great weapon would in fact be giving him an 'extra' weapon because he's already got a hand weapon.

    We at this forum are happy to help, but whenever you have a problem like this, think about it logically. A man only has two hands (normally!), if he's holding a flippin' great banner in one hand, he isn't going to have enough hands left to hold a two handed weapon as well, is he?!

    As a final point, if a battle standard bearer does not take a magic banner, he is allowed to take other magic items, including magic weapons. He could therefore be armed with a magic weapon since most of those are one handed swords (or axes or whatever) that replace his normal hand weapon. There are a few magic weapons that 'count as' great weapons (or need two hands, like the Axes of Khorgor) so obviously he couldn't have those.
    "Peace, through superior firepower."

  5. #4
    Member Borak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    New Zealand
    Age
    44
    Posts
    69
    Mentioned
    19 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    3 (x1)

    Like wise a BSB cannot also carry a Shield either
    Only A Dwarf Can Appreciate A Hairy Woman

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts