Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Lets pretend a model is under the influence of this spell, but is only obligated to move in the remaining moves section. It is allowed to "charge and fight any enemy that lies along this line of advance." If there was an enemy just barely in their charge arc, so that charging them would put the marker out of their LOS, are they allowed to charge?
Secondly, what happens if another unit gets in the way of the marker, blocking LOS to it? For example, the affected player moves another unit in between the affected one, and the marker.
Third, if I cast this spell, and place the marker directly infront of an enemy, (like 1/2 inch away), what will happen? Does he have to stop on it, or simply move to it and then keep going?
Finally, the movement for this spell is done in the remaining moves phase. I assume that if they panic and flee for any reason, they aren't bound by the spell, but if they subsequently rally, are they still subjected to it?
With these kinds of questions, I find that it is better to interpret the rules to the letter rather than trying to make liberal, interpretative declarations. It prevents rule-bending, which is the province of powergamers and the damned :tongue:
Enough nonsense - down to your questions.
1) The unit would still be allowed to charge, I think. Then, once they are again able, they must turn around again and move towards the marker as quickly and directly as possible.
2) LOS is irrelevant for this spell, the unit still moves as quickly and directly as possible towards the illusion marker, so they would just move around the unit. Remember, it's not just an illusion but the sorcerer also implants some kind of instinctive knowledge that what they want is there.
3) If the enemy marches over it, they have already reached the illusion marker and the spell will end. Or perhaps they would have to turn around and move back towards the marker until they reached it? I do not know the answer to this one.
4) Since it does not state that panic will end the spell, the unit is still subject to the spell when they rally.
1. they move towards the marker in the "remaining moves" so if the unit under the influence of the spell can charge an enemy unit they can if the controlling player wishes it.
2. same goes if a unit gets in the way, they are allowed to charge it.
if it is one of their own units they have to take the closest route around it.
3. when they reach the marker the spell will immediately end. However since it is considered a move, the unit cannot move any further that phase.
4. niterabbit is correct.
hope we´ve brought some clarity, cheers dancey
Last edited by danceman; December 14th, 2005 at 03:07.
""What's the matter? Don't ya like clowns? Don't we make ya laugh?" - Captain Spaulding.
From the GW forum FAQ:
: The Titillating Delusions spell. May an affected unit still declare charges against units in LOS but not on the line designed by the spell? What about frenzied units who are forced to declare charges when possible? If a unit is affected, is it considered "immune to psychology", or can pshychology effects alter their movement? Can you choose to flee from a charge, away from the direction nominated by the spell? If you cast a magical movement spell or incantation at an affected unit, can you freely choose the direction or are you forced to move the unit in the direction given by the desillusions spell?
A : The thing affected by the spell is the unit's voluntary movements : all voluntary movement, including those that result from a spell or incantation, even charge declarations, have to be made in the direction given by the delusions spell. This includes the voluntary direction that Spawn and Pump Wagons move in. However, the affected unit is not Immune to Psychology, and all compulsory movement still obeys its own rules (compulsory charges, failed terror tests, etc.). The unit can still flee a charge, but will still be affected by the spell as soon as it regains its freedom of movement.
Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.Originally Posted by amishcellphone