Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I recentaly had a game where a wight lord with the sword of kings in a unit containing the banner of the barrows chalanged a wood elf character with the annoyance of nettles, or whatever it is actualy called, and neither of us could figure out which rule took presidence.
The banner of the barrows says that any wight in the unit including wight lords hit on a 3+ regardless of relative WS or any other modifier, while the annoyance of nettles says that in a chalange the woof elf character is only hit on 6s. These rules seem to directly contradict. Any answers?
In the case of 2 things contradicting each other like this it depends on whose turn it is. For example, if it is the wood elf players turn he can only be hit on a 6 however in the Undead players turn his banner takes precedence and hits on a 3+. This has been discussed before when it comes to auto hit weapons against the annoyance of netlings, however that was easier as auto hit simply assumes that it needs 6s to hit so all attack rolls are 6s to get the auto hit.
Helper monkey, bring me beer and donuts
I don't believe anyone's given a correct answer yet.
This seems a case of "an immovable object meets an irresistable force." The manner in which to deal with this is discussed in a GW FAQ. When two "always do X" abilities, modifiers, or whatever contradict one another, you roll off each time.
David is correct, the same also applies to banner of the barrows attacking castle walls.
Every time (not just once a battle) the situation arrises, you roll off and whoever wins gets their rule used that time. As soon as it happens again later, you roll off again.
So practice your dicerolling skills, they'll do you a world of good. ;P
An annoyance of netlings is not a modifier. It doesn't add +1 or -1 to WS, or Str, or I, or anything. And the annoyance reads, "In a challenge, any enemy attempting to strike a character with an Annoyance of Netlings will only hit on 6s."
When you encounter two items with such absolute statements, you dice off per the FAQ.
CorrectOriginally Posted by strewart