Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
My gaming group have been using this rule since I don't know when (well before last edition) and it doesn't unbalance the game but we have never actually looked it up to see if it was legal, I looked it up recently and couldn't find any reference to it (but I only skimmed the rule book I must admit)
So here is the question: If you have a Battle Standard Bearer (i.e a hero) he adds +1 CR if you have a regular standard bearer in the same unit do you get a further +1CR, or can you only ever use one standard bearer.
As I said before we have been playing you do get the +2 CR for the last I dunno 8 years and it hasn't made a difference but still......
Yep, it's only +1 however many types of standards you have in there.
All the old Specialist Games resources are currently being uploaded at the Tactical Command forums, and you can find them here: http://www.sg.tacticalwargames.net/fanatic/.
Indeed, you get +1 combat resolution for having a banner, regardless of how many you have in the same combat or what sort of banner it is. Notice I also said 'in the same combat', you don't get more than +1 if you have more than one banner in the same unit, nor do you get more than +1 for having more than one banner involved in any particular combat. You just get +1 for having a banner that belongs to you involved in the combat.
I hope that makes sense!
Also note that the War Banner does add +2 rather than +1, because it gives +1 for being a banner in the first place, and then the magical effect of the banner adds a further +1.
Last edited by Tzeentch Lord; February 26th, 2006 at 22:17.
"Peace, through superior firepower."
You only get the bonus from one or the other for combat resolutions purposes. You did used to get a combined effect but I can't even remember which edition that was in, thats how long ago it was.
Helper monkey, bring me beer and donuts
Thanks, useful to know if I am playing someone outside the usual group.
And as a related question I assume you can still use the magical effects of both banners?
Yes. If you have the BSB and aunit both with magical banners both take effect, you just count as having a single banner for Combat resolution.