Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
my buddy plays skaven. he always goes with a grey seer on the bell. under his rule book it stats that he can cast his spells/shoot at stuff that is in combat with the chance of hitting his own units ("life is cheap") when i am in combat with this unit of rats accomodating the bell, is the seer able to cast on my unit even if im in combat with him?
along the same lines, can a caster from any army cast a spell that "can be cast on a unit already in combat" be casted on an oppenent that they engaged in combat with?
I dont know about your first question but the answer to the second is only if the spell stats it as some spells cam be cast while in combat but i think the majority can't be cast into or from combat.
Yes people i know that my spelling and punctuation is awful but I am product of British teaching pollicies so what can I do about it?
Khaz is right. A spell that can't be caste into combat is different from a spell that can be caste while in combat. An example form VC is Hellish Vigour can be caste on a friendly unit in combat, but if the wizard was in combat himself he couldn't caste it. While Hand of Dust is a combat spell that can be caste while in combat.
So in order to use it in combat the spell must state Can be used when the wizard is in combat
ok thank you for clearing that up... we've been playing the caster can still cast on something else while in combat... that changes things a lot hehe. i read the Magic and Character portion of the Warhammer main rules and never found a difinitive rule stating this. if you happen to know the referance, could you tell me so i can show this to my friends?
thank you for responses
edit: i suppose showing a spell description should be sufficient. i just found one that has this "cast while in combat" statement in the main rulebook.
Last edited by Geisticon; March 29th, 2006 at 20:49.
the answer to your first question is yes howerver i don't know why he would do it as it reduces the bells effeciancy(?)
No, a Wizard can always cast spells while in combat, but for many spells he must also have a line of sight to the target. If his LoS is blocked by the unit that the Wizard's unit is in combat with, then the only target for LoS spells will be the unit his is fighting. I'm pretty sure that apart from magic missiles and spells which specifically state that they must be cast on an 'unengaged unit', the wizard can still cast a spell on the unit he is fighting. Need to find a FAQ on that though...Originally Posted by Von_Smallhousen
"Peace, through superior firepower."
Nope, wizards cannot cast spells whilst in combat unless is specifically stipulates it can be cast in combat.
Hand of Dust: " The spell can caste the spell on himself. It can be cast even if the wizard is in close combat."
Another example from the Lore of Fire - Flaming Sword of Rhuin: "This spell can be caste by the wizard on himself. It can be cast even if the wizard is in close combat."
Wizards CANNOT cast spells whilst they are engaged in combat unless the spell specifically states that it can be caste when the wizard is in CC.
Even if the model of the mage isn't in combat but the unit is, the mage still cannot cast spells. The only exception to this rule is the Slaan, because as long as the actual slaan model is not in combat, and even if the unit it is in is in combat, the slaan can still cast spells. For all other mages (as far as I know) as long as they are in combat or the unit they are in is in combat, they cannot cast spells unless the spells states specifically that they can (as stated above).
....He is coming for YOU....
"Master Bungle is right" - Stonehambey
"Get out of my house Master Bungle!" - Victim
Okay, time to bring out the big guns. I draw your attention to this FAQ clarification of Wizards in combat. Note specifically the parts I have bolded:
"Q. If a Wizard or his unit is engaged in close combat with enemy models
is the Wizard allowed to cast spells?
A. There is no general rule preventing a Wizard from casting spells while
he or his unit is in close combat, but specific spells may not be castable
in this situation. Spells specifically defined as "Magic Missiles",
for instance, cannot be cast while the Wizard or his unit is engaged in
close combat, and some other spells explicitly cover this situation in
their description. Further, a spell cannot be cast at a unit in close
combat unless its description explicitly allows it to do so and many spells
require line of sight. These factors, taken together, generally restrict
the available targets for the Wizard's spells.
Note however, that nowhere in the rules does it state that the act of being
engaged in close combat blocks line of sight.....only models and terrain
block line of sight. This means that in instances where a Wizard's line
of sight is not entirely blocked by other models, the Wizard may still be
able to draw line of sight to potential targets. This also means that
Wizards who are riding on Large Targets or whom are Large Targets by nature
may still be able to draw line of sight to potential targets, even if
their frontage is fully occupied by enemy models (who are not also Large
S. Rulebook pages 59, 135, 136, 142 / Direwolf FAQ Council Interpretation"
The link to this FAQ is here.
I think that makes things a bit clearer...
"Peace, through superior firepower."
well it sure does, thx for that research. i think a rulebook blog in the magic section is in order
so yes, a scaven grey seer would be able to cast on a unit he is engauged with INCLUDING magic missles as this is part of their ruleset. in addition, the screaming bell gives him "large target" LOS.
ouch... second thought on charging this unit with a small one, lol. his unit would also have the magic resistance (1) against his own spells i would assume. that's a mean unit.
i did get luck once tho with a unit of 3 Cold One Knights (hammered from jezzails) and won the combat round for taking out 3 rats around the bell. i routed the unit and ran it down! damn was he pissed haha.