Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I know that killing blow only affects man size creatures, so ussually models on 20x20 or 25x25. It also affects cavalry models, but what I was wondering does it affect creatures like terradons, warhawk riders, pegasi knights and other similar units to these ones. They are on larger bases than a normal man size creature would be on, but all of these are being ridden by a man size model, so would killing blow work on units like these? I know you can killing blow characters riding things like pegasi, but you can single them out and choose to attack the mount or character, so what do you guys think?
Can, or can't? Can't sounds like it would fit in there better.I know you can killing blow characters riding things like pegasi, but you can single them out and choose to attack the mount or character, so what do you guys think?
either way it's an interesting question. When a chracter rides a monster, you can killing blow the guy riding it but not the monster. Does the Pegasus count as a monstrous creature or just a mount?
If the answer is monstours creature then you could killing blow the rider...
If the answer is they count as one model in effect then i guess the rules would ague that you counldn't KB the rider...even though that's stupid...
This question has confused me, too. On another board, members were talking about wardancers being able to use killing blow against plague riders. THe critters are on a monster base, but the riders are man-sized. Everyone was unanimous that kb would work against them, but nobody really explained it when I asked.
In other words, I don't have an answer, but I'd love to hear from someone who knows.
This has come up before regarding pegasus knights.. Since they are effectively one model (the rider/pegasi can't be killed seperately) it was concluded that you could KB them, and it counted just like killing a normal knight. The mount ran away, became distressed or whatever and played no further part in the battle while the rider was KBed. I'm pretty sure I read an FaQ covering it, but can't find it now..
Here is an old thread asking the same question.
My opinion is also that if the model has a man-sized rider then it can be KB'ed. However, King Ulrik and I once had a massive argument (a friendly argument of course!) about Dwarf Gyrocopters. I said they could be KB'ed because there was a Dwarf piloting it, he claimed it could not be KB'ed because it was considered more like a chariot :blink: (which can't be KB'ed as far as I know). I don't think the debate was really settled in the end either...
In short, nobody knows for sure. If the chuffin' games designers would just keep models separate rather than continually merging them into single profiles, this sort of thing wouldn't happen. But of course, they know best... :glare:
This is yet another example of GW's vague and confusing rules systems. Don't get me wrong, I love playing Warhammer, but it would be so much more fun if someone would plug all these massive holes in the rules... :huh:
Last edited by Tzeentch Lord; April 12th, 2006 at 10:50.
"Peace, through superior firepower."
Tzeentch Lord's and Strewart's responses make sense to me, so that's what I'll go with.
As for the rules, yes, they're too blasted confusing. Let's hope that this next edition/update patches a lot of these things.
Originally Posted by DavidVC04
There was an FAQ in white dwarf a couple of months ago stating that daemonc cavalry (bloodcrushers, plague riders etc) can be killing blowed as they are treated as a single cavalry model with one profile.
Do warhawk riders have 1 wound? If so I would say that they can be killing blowed as it is effectively a cavalry model, just with wings.
Helper monkey, bring me beer and donuts
I missed that somehow. I'll have to go back and dig through the stack. How nerdy is this: I've labeled all my WD's with the contents that matter to me so that I can quickly find info. :wacko:Originally Posted by LurchSince plague riders don't have a single wound, then I'd guess that it wouldn't matter if WRs have more than one wound or not. They are specifically classed as "flying cavalry" which gives them a unit size of 2 instead of the usual 1. If they're cavalry, then following the white dwarf logic, they should be fair game.Do warhawk riders have 1 wound? If so I would say that they can be killing blowed as it is effectively a cavalry model, just with wings.
I think it was the white dwarf with the rules for Mengil Manhide's manflayers in there, however don't quote me on that
Helper monkey, bring me beer and donuts