Is running treated like marching for the purpose of... - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Son of LO Pierced53's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Hertfordshire, UK
    Posts
    2,051
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    222 (x7)

    Is running treated like marching for the purpose of...

    Is running treated like marching for the purpose of... march blocking?

    For example, can a character run if there is an opposing unit within 8'', just as regular units can't march?

    Sorry for the dodgy explanation. :wacko:


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Son of LO strewart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Australia
    Age
    29
    Posts
    3,348
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    139 (x8)

    Flee you mean? Yes, you can still flee if there are opponents nearby. If you meant willingly run toward the opponent, that would count as marching so you can't. The only way to go forwards at double pace besides marching is charging. Unless you have some kind of spell.
    The LO ANZAC Clan!

    The Pirate's Haven BFG clan! Breathe life into this fantastic GW system.

  4. #3
    Tabletop Terraformer Tzeentch Lord's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    UK
    Age
    35
    Posts
    1,405
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    109 (x4)

    There is no 'running' in Warhammer as such. Regular units will either march or charge, while skirmishers and single models on foot will 'move at double pace'. It specifically says in the rulebook that while regular units can't march when they start their move within 8" of the enemy, skirmishers and single models on foot are still allowed to move at double pace, even if within 8" of an enemy.
    "Peace, through superior firepower."

  5. #4
    /botnobot/ DavidWC09's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Wayward, Texas
    Posts
    12,489
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    1283 (x8)

    A related question:
    Do fleeing units march block other units? It seems like I've looked this up, but I can't recall.
    Painting Videos--My Warriors of Chaos--WHFB Tactica Index
    *************************************************

  6. #5
    LO's unofficial Jester Visitor Q's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Vault 13
    Age
    31
    Posts
    2,900
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    377 (x8)

    I believe that they don't this is off the top of my head though (I think it was in a Q/A relating to brettonian Knights). Things like this I think you can sometimes work out using the spirit of the rules and it seems a bit unlikly that fleeing troops would disrupt the enemies plans too much.
    "God is dead" Nietzsche- 1886
    "Nietzsche is dead" God- 1900

    Why are there scams? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q71FLDIMBc8

  7. #6
    Son of LO Pierced53's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Hertfordshire, UK
    Posts
    2,051
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    222 (x7)

    Quote Originally Posted by Tzeentch Lord
    There is no 'running' in Warhammer as such. Regular units will either march or charge, while skirmishers and single models on foot will 'move at double pace'. It specifically says in the rulebook that while regular units can't march when they start their move within 8" of the enemy, skirmishers and single models on foot are still allowed to move at double pace, even if within 8" of an enemy.
    Ah, double-pace is what I meant. Thanks, you've answered my Q.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts