Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
On page 95 in the section about characters in units, the BRB says: "[...] As long as the character remains in the back ranks he cannot fight, (even with a spear), use magic or magic items, nor can the unit use his leadership for tests. In effect, he is out of the game."
If a unit containing a character is charged in the rear solely, the character is effectively away from combat, and cannot fight. Is the unit unable to use his leadership?
The Hierarchy Chaotica: Kinky Sex > Change > Disease > Blood
98% of the population actually believes these stupid statistics. If you're part of the 2% of humanity with a brain, put this in your profile.
Yes - as he is still leading his unit. If you choose to place a character in the back rank or refuse a combat then you go to the back and lose the benefits. If he is still in the front you can use his leadership.
As far as I'm aware, you cannot choose to place a character in any rank except the first. There are only three reasons that a character would end up in other ranks:
First, if he moves there during a combat (he can only move in his movement phase though) to help with the fighting when his unit has been attacked in the rear, but he must move back to the front rank when the fight has ended.
Second, if the unit's front rank is completely taken up by the command group (who have priority for the front rank) and other characters. If this is the case, further characters will have to start filling up the second rank and so on.
Third, if the character refuses a challenge he is moved to the back rank and is not allowed to fight. Although should the unit be in combat to it's front and rear, I'm pretty sure he still cannot fight even against the enemy to the unit's rear, I think it's assumed the character isn't really in the back rank, he's actually hiding inside the unit somewhere. Also, when a character refuses a challenge, I'm pretty certain his unit cannot use his leadership for any tests they are required to make in that turn.With all that in mind, Gorrporrin is quite correct when he says the unit can use his leadership in this instance. The reason being that even if a unit is charged in the rear only, the character is still in the front rank of the unit isn't he?! The unit's front facing doesn't change just because the only fight it's involved in is taking place to it's rear arc. Also, as I explained above, the character isn't stranded away from the fight because he can move within his unit to the rear rank during his movement phase and fight.Originally Posted by Fat_Badger
"Peace, through superior firepower."
Though that raises an interesting question.. If he is moved to the back from refusing a challenge, and his unit gets charged in the rear, can he attack that second unit? Surely those in BTB with him could attack him, so he should be able to attack back.
And what if the unit charging the rear issues another challenge and he refuses? Is he moved back to the front? Then being in the front can he fight?
yeah, that was really a good question. i think that if he is mooved to the back rank, when denying a challenge, he could fight back if the unit got charged in the rear. in the end of that close combat phase the character is mooved back to the front rank again, so he shouldnt be able to even come in base contact with the charging enemy, because he is already in the front rank when the enemy charges the next turn.
Last edited by ^Shadow-Stalker; May 11th, 2006 at 14:28.
if anyone helps you with an army list or rules/fluff , then give them some rep
:huh: I thought I covered this in my previous post, I'll repeat it again for clarity though:Originally Posted by strewartThe boldified bit is the key part here, I'm sure that when a character refuses a challenge, he's moved out of the front rank and is not allowed to fight. Against anyone. Because he's being a wimp. And also, I though a character could only be challenged once per turn, since he'll either accept and fight or decline and hide.Originally Posted by Tzeentch Lord
"Peace, through superior firepower."
I think the intention of moving the character to the rear if they refuse a challenge is so that they don't take part in the combat - so even if charged in the rear i would thinkthat you should move the character to a free flank maybe, and he can't be attacked or attack himself. I don't think it specifically says this but i feel that is what is intended as it does say they "take no further part in the combat."