Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I recently played a 2000 pt game and I believe that I was "hosed" over. First off I am a TK player and am fairly calm about most of the games I play. But I got a bit heated during that game. Now to the meat of the question.
Do foot troopers block line of sight to those that are mounted? Reason I ask is that gnoblars from the OK block LoS to Ogres so why can't Skelies block LoS to horsemen?
Thanks in Advance,
You're right, it's only models deemed Large or models in an elevated position.
Although bear in mind that a mounted character can still be targeted even if he is within 5" of infantry.
Don't forget units that have the 'small' or 'swarm' classification. Like Tomb Swarms/Jungle Swarms, etc.
'Swarm' does not imply 'small'Originally Posted by MobiusPrime
Bat swarms, for example, do indeed block line of sight
Well I was shot at when my LP was behind a unit of skellies. I found that odd that he could do it, but I did not want to create a stink over a game. But I now know for future refrence.
Ohhhh BTW the LP was near (within 5") of a unit of calvery.
Thanks for all your input.
He should not have done it, you've been suckered by your opponent on this my friend. As all the above have said, only large targets can see and be seen over all other units, and all units (except other small units) can see over and be seen over units with the 'small' rule. With that in mind, your skeletons would have completely blocked LoS to the Lich Priest and as such your opponent could not have shot at him (even if the priest had been on a non-large target mount for example).Originally Posted by manakari
Also, if the skeletons hadn't been there, I'm almost certain the cavalry would have provided protection for the Lich Priest since he was within 5" of them. Characters are only not protected if they are 'bigger' than the troops they are standing by. This happens when they are on a mount or monster steed for example (or are inherently bigger, like Daemon Princes) and standing by some infantry. A character on foot standing next to cavalry or Ogre sized models should still gain protection from them.
"Peace, through superior firepower."