Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
If a wizard is in combat, can it cast spells outside of it? Thanks.
yes. As long as it is not a magic missile, or require line of sight.
Magic missile = as per shooting rules :. can't do it.
LOS = you can only see the unit you are in combat with :. they are the only viable target.
Other spells, like "make your stats better" etc are all good.
Not entirely true, if the Wizard's line of sight isn't completely blocked by the models he is in combat with (like if he's only in corner-to-corner contact with the enemy), he can still cast spells that require LoS at other targets he can see. The act of being in combat doesn't prevent the wizard from casting any of his spells (unless a spell's description specifically states that it cannot be cast while in combat).Originally Posted by nougat
The same applies if the Wizard is mounted on a monster which is a Large Target (or the Wizard is himself a large target, Greater Daemons for example) and the enemy are not also large targets. In these cases, even though the wizard is in combat with the enemy and his entire front arc is blocked by them, he can still see over and cast spells at targets beyond them.
All this stuff is in the FAQ's, so I know it's true!
"Peace, through superior firepower."
Really? I thought you didn't get LoS out of combat, and thats why combat protects you from the Casket of Souls. There have been several threads that concluded (for the purpose of the Casket) when you are in combat, you don't look beyond it so can't be hurt because you are engrossed in combat.
Of course, if the wizards are in FAQ's then your statement would be correct, odd though that the opposite logic is used for two different cases...