Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I just started fantasy, so i dont really know the rules that well. Okai, for example, if my Empire Spearman has light armour with a 6+ save, i give it shield, so it becomes 5+, and once im in combat it becomes a 4+. What if i have a 2 handed weapon like a Halbert, and light armour, so i have a 6+ save. Can i give him a shield and increase it to a 5+? but i wont get the better save in close combat? Or i cant take a shield at all?
The save will not be 4+ if you use a spear and a shield, you only get the +1 parry bonus if you are using a hand weapon and shield. If you are using a weapon that requires 2 hands to use you can't use a shield in combat. You will find that most models are equipped with a hand weapon as standard so it is sometimes worth giving them a shield, that way you have the option of teh extra strength from the halberd or the improved save from hand weapon and shield.
Helper monkey, bring me beer and donuts
In addition whichever weapons you choose to fight with, you must see out the combat with those weapons
Its not that, what happend was, im taking a Empire Hero(Seneschal aka Captain), and his equipped with Full Plate Armour, White Wolf Hammer. I was wondering if i can give him a shield. Since the white wolf hammer is two handed. Would my save go from a 4+ to a 3 plus because of the shield? or will it stay at 4+ because i cant take a shield at all
You would have a 3+ armor save while you were unengaged, but when you entered melee you would have sling the shield because of your two-handed weapon. This would cause you to have a 4+ armor save in melee.
You can have the shield as equipment, but you're not going to be able to use it in melee.
Just to clarify that- this means that yes you can take a 2-handed weapon and a shield but you can't use them at the same time. So when you're not in combat you can use the shield to improve your save against shooting or magic. But if you are in combat and want to use the hammer then, because it's 2-handed, you can't use the shield- your save is 4+. Cool?
No more NG spearmen, thanks! Now I need some pump-wagons!
If it's a magic hammer then he'll have to use it whether he wants to or not, which i think is what Mishra was hinting atOriginally Posted by The Paint Monkey
Thats right, a model can be equipped with a shield and a 2 handed weapon (they will also by default generally have a hand weapon as well). In the example stated by the guy with the empire dude: The character may be equipped with a shield as well as the hammer requiring 2 hands, while not engaged in combat the shield can be used to improve his armour save against shooting or magic so it will be 3+ (this being 4+ for full plate and then +1 for the shield). If he then engages in combat he must elect which weapon combination he will use for the duration of that fight, if he chooses the 2 handed hammer his save will be 4+ as he can't use a shield as well as a weapon that requires 2 hands. If he opts for a hand weapon and shield he gets a 2+ save ( 4+ for armour, +1 for shield and +1 for the parry rule).
Please note that this is all based on the dude being on foot as opposed to mounted.
Helper monkey, bring me beer and donuts
A Seneschal cannot have a Shield. Ever. Nada. They have no option for a mundane shield, and thus cannot take a magical one, either.Originally Posted by Kerosive
Use Light, Beasts, Metal instead of Heavens
NecroLords: Use at least one Death Mage
Brets: Use Peasants&Damsels
Skaven: Don't use Skryre SAD
Originally Posted by Teron
that's the sneaky elf response. Avoid direct confrontation and live another day ^_^
You also cannot parry with a magical weapon, but can still use a shield.