Queen Bess question - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    Member Tdh6002's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Veghel
    Age
    30
    Posts
    157
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    6 (x1)

    Queen Bess question

    hello,

    if you read the rules of the queen bess, it sais that models have no saving throw against a shot from the queen bess. does this include ward saves?

    thanks

    -tdh6002

    A word of warning. The next time you get a strange unexplained reading on your Flagship's scanner and sensor arrays, don't dismiss it as a glitch or ghost. The Necrons are a real threat now, and they are out there, biding their time, waiting for you!

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    /botnobot/ DavidWC09's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Wayward, Texas
    Posts
    12,489
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    1283 (x8)

    I had to go back to the White Dwarf issue to double check it, and you're exactly right. The rules read no "saving throws." That means what it means, no throws to save the wounds. So I'd have to read it as no armor or ward saves.

    The only thing that's odd is that weapons of that sort usually have some clause like this: "No savings throws allowed, not even ward saves."

    Even though it's missing for Bess, no saving throws is pretty clear.
    Painting Videos--My Warriors of Chaos--WHFB Tactica Index
    *************************************************

  4. #3
    Son of LO Wolf_Pack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Age
    29
    Posts
    4,630
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    150 (x8)

    IRRC no saving throws refers to the armour save. Unless it is specified it negates ward saves, they are always allowed.

    It is odd though, I would get a ruleboyz on that one.
    Best Regards,
    Wolf_Pack

  5. #4
    /botnobot/ DavidWC09's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Wayward, Texas
    Posts
    12,489
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    1283 (x8)

    It'd be worth asking. My gut tells me they made a mistake in the wording, but to strict to how it's printed, I think it reads as no saves whatsoever. But I don't think they'd give the ability to ignore ward saves to a weapon that has the potential for the sort of damage that QB can do. If it avoids misfires and hits its targetes, it'll shred the opponent.
    Painting Videos--My Warriors of Chaos--WHFB Tactica Index
    *************************************************

  6. #5
    Son of LO
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,351
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    523 (x8)

    A ward may still be taken against weapons that "ignore all saves"

    It even says it in the BRB

    Ciao

    Stonehambey

  7. #6
    /botnobot/ DavidWC09's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Wayward, Texas
    Posts
    12,489
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    1283 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by Stonehambey
    A ward may still be taken against weapons that "ignore all saves"

    It even says it in the BRB

    Ciao

    Stonehambey
    On p. 64, it says "Even if a hit ignores all armour saves..."

    We need Rork and Tzeentch Lord to chime in. How do we get them here? Maybe if we all chant their names...

    Tzeentch Lord
    Rork
    Tzeentch Lord
    Rork
    Tzeentch Lord
    Rork

    You are needed in the rules forum...rules forum...rules forum
    Painting Videos--My Warriors of Chaos--WHFB Tactica Index
    *************************************************

  8. #7
    Member Tdh6002's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Veghel
    Age
    30
    Posts
    157
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    6 (x1)

    ahmmmmmmm...

    i call upon thy, Tzeentch Lord and Rork....

    please come to my post.....

    and answer my question if you would.....

    ahmmmmm.....

    Tzeentch Lord
    Rork
    Tzeentch Lord
    Rork
    Tzeentch Lord
    Rork
    Tzeentch Lord
    Rork
    Tzeentch Lord
    Rork
    Tzeentch Lord
    Rork

    ahmmmmmmmm...

    now lets hope it will work:yes:
    A word of warning. The next time you get a strange unexplained reading on your Flagship's scanner and sensor arrays, don't dismiss it as a glitch or ghost. The Necrons are a real threat now, and they are out there, biding their time, waiting for you!

  9. #8
    Son of LO
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,351
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    523 (x8)

    On p. 64, it says "Even if a hit ignores all armour saves..."
    Oooh so it does:w00t:

    (Note to self, don't quote BRB off the top of your head again)

    In that case i think i'll join the chant...telepathically

    ....

    ....

    Message sent

    One of them will arrive soon(Y)

    Ciao

    Stonehambey

    Edit: Geez look at the time between mine and Rorks post! Now i knew i was good but...
    Last edited by Sammy the Squib; July 18th, 2006 at 19:02.

  10. #9
    Advocatus Diaboli Rork's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Prowling LO, looking for fresh meat.
    Posts
    4,571
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    476 (x8)

    It's typically vague. But anything that does ignore ward saves explicitly says so - a ward save can be taken against any and all wounds suffered by a model.

    I would say since it does not specifically override the BRB, you default to the standard ward save rules.

    edit:

    Now i knew i was good but...
    ...I was writing my reply at the same time you were writing yours .
    Last edited by Rork; July 18th, 2006 at 19:51.


    Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.

    Quote Originally Posted by amishcellphone
    <3 rork. He does all the arguing so I don't have to.

  11. #10
    /botnobot/ DavidWC09's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Wayward, Texas
    Posts
    12,489
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    1283 (x8)

    That sounds reasonable to me. I'll back off my earlier statement and go with this interpretation.
    Painting Videos--My Warriors of Chaos--WHFB Tactica Index
    *************************************************

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts