Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I don't remember reading about these in the core book although I'm very new and have read it briefly only twice.
In regards to magic. If I have no wizards in my army do I still get 2 dispel dice?
Can all archers move and shoot unless stated otherwise?
Is there a minimum amount of ranks a unit must form? My opponent plays wood elves and sometimes has a row of 12 Glade Guard in a straight line and while I don't mind cus it usually results in a break test, I'm curious if its actually legal? Furthermore, what can his units do once CC is initiated if this is legal? Do the 7 or so who aren't in base contact with one of my units just stand there? Or can they slowly start to fall into rank?
My opponent uses Dryads in his army which have the forest sprite rule or whatever it is. Part of this rule is that they are immune to psychology. Now upon reading the rulebook it says that immune to psychology creatures still have to take break tests (because they're not unbreakable I assume) but I just want to confirm because it doesn't seem to make sense..I mean Dryads are this immortal tree spirit..yet they start to lose in combat and flee? Seems suspicious. Furthermore, are undead(Vampire Counts and Tomb Kings) the same way?
I play Skaven and thus most of my units have a reasonably low initiative in CC whereas my opponents elves have a reasonably high initiative. If he kills my entire front rank in CC do I not get an attack back that turn of combat since all of my soldiers are filling the ranks?
Those are all the questions I have. I appreciate any responses and apologize if any of them are newbish.
Almost all the answers are indeed in the big red book, I suggest you
read it again! Not trying to be rude, but we're not supposed to
quote rules here (GW copyright issues). Also, getting to know the rules
is very handy! I'll do my best to answer though (hopefully without breaking
any board rules).
1) All armies (except dwarves) start with the base number of dispel
dice AND power dice, even if they have no wizards.
2) Yes. There is a negative modifier for most units that move and shoot.
3) No, units can be as wide as you like. Only figures in contact can attack.
So a really wide unit is unlikely to have much of a rank bonus.
4) Yes, only unbreakable units don't take break tests, immune to psychology
units still have to take them. Undead have a special rule for failed break checks.
Daemons have a slightly different one. I'm not sure about "Forest Spirits" like
Dryads, you'll have to check the specific army book for those rules.
5) Yeah, if you lose all your figures that are in contact, you don't get any attacks
back. There's an exception to this for heroes and champions that are in contact.
These would have to be specifically targeted in order to be hit and then killed.
I'll be the first to admit, the Warhammer rulebook isn't the easiest rulebook to get your head around. Rules are shoehorned in all over the place and it's easy to miss something that's obvious to everyone else. Also, it doesn't make for light bedtime reading, so reading it cover to cover isn't something most people are going to do! Having said that, all these questions can be answered by reading the appropriate sections of the book. But since I'm such a nice guy, I'm going to help anyway.Yes, you always get 2 dispel dice (4 if you're Dwarfs).Originally Posted by CoolockUnless the weapon has the 'Move-Or-Shoot' rule (like crossbows do), anyone with a missile weapon can move and shoot, but they'll get a -1 to hit for doing it. Of course, if you make a march move, you can't do anything else that turn, including shooting (although wizards can still cast spells).Originally Posted by CoolockThe minimum number of ranks a ranked unit must form is 1, but if they do this they won't get a rank bonus. With a 1-rank unit, once combat is joined, any models left out on the edges not in base contact with the enemy cannot fight or even move into combat. Although if the 1-rank unit somehow manages to pull off a miraculous win, then they can lap round just like any other unit, using models from the edges.Originally Posted by CoolockImmune to Psychology does not make a model exempt from taking Break tests, that, as you've noticed is represented by the Unbreakable rule. If you're not unbreakable, you must take break tests when required. Even if you're an immortal tree spirit. Remember, fluff does not equal rules!Originally Posted by CoolockCorrect, if you're front rank is wiped out, you won't get any attacks back and you'll have to rely on rank bonus, outnumbering and banners to win. Although if you have a unit champion in the unit and you're opponent doesn't specifically allocate attacks against him, he'll survive even if the front rank is wiped out?! I bet you didn't know that did you! Unit champions are like characters, they don't die along with the rank and file, your opponent can't kill them unless he allocates a specific attack against them (and that attack inflicts a killing wound obviously).Originally Posted by Coolock
"Peace, through superior firepower."