Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Some friends and I were having a huge 6000 point a side battle with 4 armies. During the course of the battle we ran into a situation where we did not know the correct way to figure out the combat resolution to determine who won the combat. To start with a unit of ogre iron guts and a giant were in frontal combat with an orc unit of archers with a couple of TK swarms attacking the archers from the rear with enough unit strength to get the rear attack CR. The archers passed their leadership that turn and continued to fight. On the next turn another unit of orcs charged the giant in the flank. They killed the giant and did not overrun into the ogre iron guts. The number of wounds inflicted on both sides were 5-2 against the orcs, with the giant taking 2 wounds, and the orc archers taking 5. The orcs clearly had the outnumber modifier. The real question came to the rank bonuses. The orc archers had the most ranks with 4, and the orcs that charged the giant only had 3 ranks. According to the combat resolution table you are supposed to the take the rank bonus from the unit with the most ranks and add to your score. But the TK swarms had negated that bonus with a rear attack. So the question is, how would have been the correct way to determine the CR of the battle?
The swarm would have no bearing besides their wounds causes/against; they are a swarm and skirmishers, meaning they cannot negate ranks. No matter their size or numbers. If the orc unit in combat with them had more ranks then their bonus would be used.
'Swarms' - Tomb Kings book, page 28
'Skirmishers in combat' - BRB, page 116 [last paragraph]
As KU correctly pointed out, the Swarms wouldn't have negated the ranks from the larger Orc unit because they're skirmishers. However, hypothetically, if the Swarms had not been skirmishers, you would technically (by the letter of the rules) get zero rank bonus. This is because (I'm almost certain about this) the rules say, you add the ranks of 'the largest unit', ie. the biggest Orc unit. But this unit has had it's ranks nullified, so you don't get any.Originally Posted by bohunker
But personally, I think what the rules meant to say was 'add the largest rank bonus of all your units involved in the combat'. So since the big Orc unit doesn't have any rank bonus, you'd add the rank bonus of the smaller Orc unit instead. But remember, this is what the rules should say, not what they actually do say! You can implement it as a house rule, but don't bet on getting away with it at tournaments and such!
"Peace, through superior firepower."
Good call on that one Tzeench Lord.
Technically correct, yet very anal retentive, heheh. I'd even let the 'asumed' rule pass in competitive play.
Also,The most rank bonus you can get is three (except some armies can double their rank bonus through magic items/banners). So even if your unit of Orcs is big enough for four ranks, you can still only get three.Originally Posted by bohunker
Thank you for the help with this problem.
One last question to ask. Would the swarms still get the +2 combat resolution for attacking in the rear and having a unit strength of 5 or greater even though they do not negate rank bonuses?
Cheers dude, that rule is very anal, but I'd personally play it the 'intended' way rather than the 'written' way, purely because it makes more sense!Originally Posted by MobiusPrimeYes, anything that's US5 or more will get the +1 or +2 combat res bonus for attacking the flank or rear respectively.Originally Posted by Bohunker
"Peace, through superior firepower."