Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I think I may have found something abuseable in the rules. The rulebook states that a unit may declare a charge against any enemy unit within the charging unit's line of sight. It also says that a fleeing unit may only flee as a charge reaction. This means that it's possible for someone to declare a charge against a fleeing unit that he knows is too far away for the charge to be successful just to force them to flee.
I know some people will probably just say that I shouldn't worry about it and that I shouldn't play with untrustworthy people, and I definitely trust my friends, but I'd just prefer it if the possibility to abuse this wasn't there. So I've come up with a house rule. Tell me if you think it's a good solution or not:
Since the fleeing unit has no option except to flee when the charge is declared, we can immediately measure to see if the charging unit is in range or not before moving either unit. If it would be a failed charge, the charged unit stays where it is; the unit effectively "holds" (even though it is fleeing) while the charging unit makes its failed charge move at its normal movement rate. If the charge would be successful, then the charged unit is forced to flee as normal. Even though we are making the measurement before declaring charge reactions which is against the normal rules, the player with the charged unit cannot decide to do anything except flee so I think this works as a temporary solution until the roolzboyz can give us an offical fix.
What do you think?
High on glue fumes and THC
In the last rule edition, it was stated that a general couldn't charge an enemy unit clearly out of range, knowing that the charge would fail.
I don't recall reading that in the latest book, but I think the spirit of the game remains the same. To me, it's bad sportsmanship.
still in this edition. if the general is in the unit then he can only charge with the unit.
40K-Beakies(9-14-4),Guard(4-7-2),Orks(34-12-11). FANTASY-Dwarves(15-6-7),Beasts (14-14-1), Skaven (17-17-10) DoC (6-1-2). CYGNAR (28-15-1)