Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Hi, sorry I am new to the fantasy game as I just bought the new rulebook a week ago (almost finished reading it), as I read through it some questions popped up in my mind. I am hoping some of you could help me out and answer them, thanks.
1) The STR of a weapon modifies a target's armour save as said in the rule book, does it affect melee as well? How is it making sense if a Giant hitting another Giant and they both are not going to get any armour save at all? And Dragons too in the same case?
2) Do magical melee attacks ignore armour save like a power weapon in 40k game? Example would be a Wood Elf Dryad that has magical melee attacks. If not, what's special about magical melee attack?
3) As stated in the rulebook, a unit that respond to a charge using flee reaction and run away.. the charging unit may therefore over-run into any other available unit in its way. What happens if the second unit also flees away? is it possible that the attacking unit hop around across the table until it reaches an impossible terrain or finally stops because one target unit Stand & Hold?
1) Yes... The giants 'armour' consists of hard skin like lizardmen and so on. the str will !!!always!!! reduce armour save unless it says so to a specific special rule.
2) No... The point is that quite a few monsters have special rules that gives them some weakness to magic attacks. like etherial creatures.
3) If the other unit flees then it can redirect its charge against another unit. BUT it may never move more then there NORMAL charge rate! That is why you flee BEFORE you move the chargers.
-lurking in the shadows of LO.
Officially diagnosed by TekoreMelkhior, Necrarch Lord
Ahh, thanks for answering, that made alot of sense now.. except I still don't see why GW included the text under Wood Elf special rule Forest Spirit -- "All attacks by Forest Spirits count as being magical. This includes any special or ranged attacks they may have." If they serves no purpose what-so-ever :x
Now they can hurt banshees and other ethereal creatures. Without that, they could only kill them through combat res.Originally Posted by nekochen
EDIT: you may be referring to the ranged combat thing added on to that statement. If they are in some sort of wacky campaign where they get crossbows, that clause means that their ranged attacks are also magical.
Last edited by Baratos; September 18th, 2006 at 04:38.
Hive Fleet Furi Kuri 32/21/4
Tomb Kings: 8/5/2
Im in ur Halo, killin ur covernantz
People have already answered, so I'll just reiterate what they've said.I'm impressed already, most players don't bother to actually read the rulebook, they just either skim through it or assume the summaries contain all the rules of the game!Originally Posted by nekochenSTR; Melee; am I correct in assuming you're a Warmachine/Hordes player?!... Anyway, armour save modifiers will affect armour saves in all cases, ranged or close combat. As someone's pointed out, it doesn't matter what the armour save represents (plating, thick skin, immunity to pain, etc), and it doesn't matter whether it's a dragon or a infantryman that has a 3+ save, it's all the same to the rules. A S7 weapon will give a -4 penalty to that 3+ save and make it about as protective as a wet paper bag.Originally Posted by nekochenNope, there aren't many things that ignore armour saves, but these things include; certain magic weapons, cannons, stone throwers, many spells and certain abilities that some troops have. However, if a weapon, spell or attack does ignore armour saves, then it will tell you that specifically in the description of the thing.Originally Posted by nekochen
Also be aware that magic armour is not immune to items that ignore armour saves! But there are things called Ward saves, these are like 'invulnerable' saves in 40k, you almost always get to take your Ward save.
If something is labelled as a magical attack, then it's special because, among other things, it can hit Ethereal creatures which would otherwise be immune from physical attack, but it also means that Daemons do not get their daemonic aura saves when hit by magical attacks.No, if the original target chooses to flee, then the attacking unit may choose to redirect their charge to another enemy unit that they can reach. I believe they can only choose to redirect once, so if the second unit flees as well, they can't redirect a second time. And remember that the target of the first redirect must be within the charge range of where the attacking unit started charging from in the first place! If they are out of charge range then it's a failed charge, these two things make it inherently impossible to hop around the table redirecting a single charge against the entire enemy army!Originally Posted by nekochen
"Peace, through superior firepower."
Thanks for clearing up the fogs :yes: