Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
So a chariot's impact hits count towards combat res, but does an ogre's? The ogre army book doesn't address it, and I don't recall reading it in the ogre FAQ preview.
My thoughts are that it would, but does anyone know?
I would have to agree that it does count. If the general rules state that impact hits count towards combat res, & the ogre book doesnt specifically say that theirs DONT, then one would assume they still follow the general rules (do count to combat res).
They arent particularly good anyway! most of the time its only 3 S4 hits.
Dark Elves - Game #28 vs High Elves: Draw
W L D
21 5 5
With a unit of eight bulls you can get 4 strength 5 hits; not to be sniffed at in my book!
I have a buddy that plays Ogres what says that you have to have the full frontage of a rank to get the enhanced Bull Charge.
So with the new rules, you'd need at least six ogres (five to make the front rank, and then any number behind them) to get the +1 strength.
He said that if you don't have a full front rank, you can't get the +1 str, even with another row of ogres behind the first.
Again, this was a friend of mine, and I don't play ogres.
I think he's wrong. The OK rulebook says nothing about the need for complete ranks. Only that Ogres must have a model behind them. Which makes me think of something extraordinarily cheesy and unsportsmanly...having a unit with a frontage of one model that is three or four deep...a jackhammer kind of.
I wouldn't do it, except to piss off a few certain players. :shifty:
I'll go with what David said. I've read the ogre rulebook a number of times and, although i dont have the book to hand, i'd probably remember if it mentioned complete ranks.
Umm david, I don't really think that smart to just have a rank of one ogre and have a bunch behind, your paying 35 points just to add plus one to a single impact hit, doesn't sound very smart to me, and I have no idea why it would be cheesy. The only thing it would be good for his going to strength 7 and destroying a chariot with one hit.
But even with six, the three in back don't do anything.
But I still think it'd be cheesy for specifically the reason you mention. Getting a str 7 torpedo out of it seems a bit ridiculous, while stupid at the same time.