Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Came across this yesterday when a unit of my beast herd men charged a unit of ogres, I have a unit champ called a foe render in that unit up in the front ranks. I have 6 men in the front and thats including the champ. after i attack the ogres attack back and managed to kill6. although the ogres did not declare any attacks on my champ im wondering if he is still killed because he managed to destroy my whole front rank.
Ive contacted my the manager to the gamesworksop i go to and he is saying otherwise that the champ does in fact die because he is only like a character for for the listed reasons in he rule book. I still dont know if he is right because I dont believe he is dead. I was wondering If there is anyone else that is 100% certain of their answer and not just an opinion. Im not directing that statement to you david because I dont see the place in the rulebook that states he will die because they gave him the rule that he can be targeted.
See page 81 of the LRB, 3rd paragraph of the Champions entry. Only when every model in the unit is killed does the champion die to excess wounds. Otherwise, attacks much be directed against him.
David is correct, the champion lives unless attacks are made directly against him.
With around 60 games of WHFB under your belt i'm surprised you weren't aware of this
I always played with that he lives and never had any problems with it unit my friend said other wise and then we asked a games workshop manager and he agreed with my friend so then i started to doubt myself. Well thank you all for helping
What if the champion is in a unit and all the creatures in the unit have larger bases than normal thus resulting in certain enemies ONLY being in b2b contact with the champion..do they automatically attack him? Are there wounds sent into the unit?
But wouldn't they have no choice but to attack the champion, as they're not in contact with the other unit members?
Of course, I can't imagine a situation where the champion of a unit would be on a different base size as he is essentially the same type model, just of a demi-character status.
Well an example would be with a champion in a chariot or in my case specifically, pegasus knights.
So you have 3 pegasus knights lined up on 5 regular based units resulting in one unit on the corner (assuming your champions on the side not in the middle) only touching the champion.
Rork's answer is probably accurate as I don't think the BRB says specifically and thus I'd assume the normal rules would be followed for targetting champions. But I wasn't sure that's why I asked