Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Are impact hits resolved before challenges are declared/resolved?
In my last game a few days ago, an Ogre unit charged into my Empire Swordsmen and Captain. I decided to challenge the Ogre Bull Champion with my Captain. The guy I was playing against insisted the impact hits went against my Captain because he was in a challenge, but before he could attack, thus he died and then the Ogre Bull Champion had 4 "free" attacks against the unit, which would give him +4 CR.
I thought this was very unfair, but thought I'd find out here. I thought the impact hits would go against the Swordsmen unit, and then they would fight the challenge?
I think you've been conned on this one. If a model that causes impact hits charges a unit, the impact hits are automatically applied to the unit, not to any character who happen to be in that unit (not even to unit champions), in much the same way as shooting. I can't see how your opponent thought that all 4 impact hits would strike a single model.
Anyway, please read the section on impact hits on page 63 of the rulebook. It explains about how impact hits are distributed like shooting hits (ie. they never hit characters in units) and what happens if they hit a character who is on his own. It does however also specify that impact hits occur before challenges, but since your character was in a unit, he would have been safe anyway.
"Peace, through superior firepower."
Okay, thank you.
I thought so. >_<
P.S: I might add my opponent's objective was to kill my General (which he did so by this), and mine was to hold table quarters, and had he not killed my Captain that phase I would have won the game the next turn, my turn 6.
Ah, such is life.. :lol: