Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Does the Casket of Souls power to reduce casting by 1 affect bound items?
I wouldn't think so. You're not casting a spell in the sense of needing to roll a 7 on however many dice. You're unleashing the power of some arcane thingamajig.
But I can certainly see why the question would come up and to my knowledge, limited as it is, I've never seen it FAQed. Of course, how valid those chronicles FAQ are now is suspect.
I am going to say no. The caskets power effects the winds of magic which are used to fuel a mages spells, a bound item isn't using the winds of magic but is instead drawing on power that has been imbued into it.
"...and we shall pave our path to the gods with the Skulls of our fallen foes."
If you read the desription for the Casket it says that the presence of the casket is harrowing for enemy casters; I know this isn't part of the rules entry per se, but it does imply that only enemy mages are affected; I have never encountered any-one who tried to add -1 to a bound spell's power level as a consequence of there being a casket present; hope this helps.
From what I have been able to gather from this limited decription, it lowers the roll by one... thus let us say you have spell X, which casts at Y... your oponent takes three dice and rolls Y. Without the casket, it passes, with the casket it fails (Y-1).
Bound items are automatically believed to have passed, having been given the power to cast before the batlle starts. Thus it automatically casts as normal, because it is not affected by the aura of the casket.
At least that is what I believe...
Deutschian First Infantry
Deutschian Third Armoured + LSS Scharfrichter
Tyranid Hive MiÃ°garÃ°sormr
Army of Branislav von Steiermark, Vampire Counts
Originally Posted by ThorMace
"Peace, through superior firepower."