Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Having only played a handful of games under 7th ed rules the following question came up in a game.
Spells can't be cast into combat unless the spell specifically says so.
Spirit of the forge resolves exactly like Rule of burning Iron, now rule of burning iron says that apart from LoS it has no targeting restrictions.
So my friend wanted to cast it on one of my units which was in combat, is this allowed? i.e. Can rule of burning iron and SoF be cast into combat?
I let him have it because it was a moot point by then as I'd pretty much lost the game (played like a fool), but was just wondering for future reference.
You can find the answer on BRB pg 107 under "Casting Spells" in the 6th paragraph.
It needs the specific proviso of "even in close combat" for such a spell to work.
Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.Originally Posted by amishcellphone
Hm, I would actually have said that although Rule of Burning Iron could be cast into combat (since it has no targeting restrictions), Spirit of the Forge could not (since it is only the effects of this spell that function the same as RoBI, the targeting rules are laid out in the SotF rules).
We were actually looking at the exact paragraph Rork mentioned at the time.
Our main query was whether "no targeting restrictions" is sufficient enough for the "spell specifically stating otherwise"
Maybe I should have worded the question better =)