Bigger/smaller bases - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Netherlands
    Age
    34
    Posts
    545
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    77 (x2)

    Bigger/smaller bases

    So, building a box of Chaos warriors + the fact that I'm new to fantasy I was wondering something....

    You need ranks of 5 models, yet the Chaos Warriors are on larger bases. Thus making a rank wider then... let's say a regiment of Dwarves. Is it bending the rules to put them on smaller bases? Or should I just go with the bases it came with? And are there movement trays that are big enough to fit 5 25 mm squarebases?


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Son of LO
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,351
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    523 (x8)

    Welcome to fantasy! =)

    It's actually breaking the rules to put them on smaller bases. Models must use the base size they are given.

    If they didn't then all sorts of compromising situations would occur.

    As for movement trays, I stick a smaller one to a bigger one as the generic ones GW provide won't accommodate for larger infantry bases. It's not much of a problem though. =)

    Ciao

    Stonehambey

  4. #3
    Master of the Ravenwing Anacron's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Wakefield, UK
    Age
    34
    Posts
    849
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    39 (x2)

    Quote Originally Posted by Stonehambey View Post
    It's actually breaking the rules to put them on smaller bases. Models must use the base size they are given.
    I can't find that rule. I also can't think of any "compromising situations".

  5. #4
    Bearded Ninja Arklite's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Edinburgh
    Age
    27
    Posts
    2,678
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    451 (x8)

    it is indeed against the rules to mount a model on a smaller base as it messes with base to base contact. we can't be mounting dragons on infantry bases can we?

    it is an obscure rule in the army book and i can't honestly recall where but chaos warriors, lizzies and other critters of their type and side MUST be mounted on 25mm bases or larger. making them smaller would mess up things such as corner to corner attacking and target priority.

    perhaps reading up on the appendix might give you the answer you seek.


    spambot kill tally: 79


    [16:19] <@Alzer> Arky's right though
    [16:20] <@Kaiser-> I know he is.
    [16:20] <@Kaiser-> He usually is.
    [16:20] <@Kaiser-> Sometimes it's intentional.
    ----
    [00:01] <+zubus> i love you, ya skirt wearin nothern monkey! ^_^

  6. #5
    Master of the Ravenwing Anacron's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Wakefield, UK
    Age
    34
    Posts
    849
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    39 (x2)

    Not in the appendix, index, or contents. Not in units, or characteristics, or unit strencth sections. Not in the FAQ/Errata. Gone through the rulebook and still can't find it.

    A page reference would be handy if anyone has one, otherwise I can only conclude that this rule does not exist, you two have both applied the same WH40k rule (which most certainly exists) to Fantasy, and Chaoschrist can absolutely put his warriors on smaller bases.

  7. #6
    LO Zealot Monsieur Cartier's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    La France!! (almost)
    Age
    28
    Posts
    1,080
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    46 (x3)

    It's one of those unwritten rules that's sprung up from nowhere. Everyone seems to accept it as one, but it's never been pubshed by anybody.
    People say the same thing in 40k, but it's never been made an actual rule there either.
    --Monsieur

    "Argue for your limitations and, sure enough, they're yours"
    -Zen proverb
    Have you been touched?
    Pirate's Haven

    USE TEH REP BUTTON

  8. #7
    Bearded Ninja Arklite's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Edinburgh
    Age
    27
    Posts
    2,678
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    451 (x8)

    well, i must say i must apologise here.

    after some digging the truth of the matter is that there is no direct rule stopping you mounting infantry on the 20mm bases rather than the 25mm. the guys just get a bit more cramped

    the thing i was referring to (somewhat wrongly) was the monster bases and the cavalry bases as there are rules regarding such that require said bases (line of sight, unit strength etc)

    my bad.


    spambot kill tally: 79


    [16:19] <@Alzer> Arky's right though
    [16:20] <@Kaiser-> I know he is.
    [16:20] <@Kaiser-> He usually is.
    [16:20] <@Kaiser-> Sometimes it's intentional.
    ----
    [00:01] <+zubus> i love you, ya skirt wearin nothern monkey! ^_^

  9. #8
    Master of the Ravenwing Anacron's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Wakefield, UK
    Age
    34
    Posts
    849
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    39 (x2)

    Quote Originally Posted by Monsieur Cartier View Post
    People say the same thing in 40k, but it's never been made an actual rule there either.
    Ah no, in 40k it has been made an actual rule (page 6 of the BB.

  10. #9
    /botnobot/ DavidWC09's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Wayward, Texas
    Posts
    12,489
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    1283 (x8)

    There's always this.
    Painting Videos--My Warriors of Chaos--WHFB Tactica Index
    *************************************************

  11. #10
    Son of LO
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,351
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    523 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by DavidVC04 View Post
    There's always this.
    Forgive me if I'm being a little slow, but are you suggesting that this implies that it is against the rules to mount chaos infantry on smaller bases, or it isn't? Or are you just throwing it out there for debate =)

    Ciao

    Stonehambey

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts