Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
This point has confused me for a time, and came up today in a battle.
I charged a couple of Great Eagles into the flank of a unit of Dwarf Quarellers. Now, a single eagle is US3 and thus does not negate ranks or gain the flanking bonus. But two of them together is US6. Do they together negate ranks & gain the bonus?
We couldn't decide if it had to be a single unit of US5+ to negate the ranks, or if the combination of charging units was US5 (or more) then they would negate ranks. The rulebook seemed to imply that it had to be a single unit of US5, and no amount of smaller units could negate the rank bonus. But since that does not make a lot of sense we decided to say that I did get the flank bonus (and negate his ranks) for the 2x US3 eagles.
But some elucidation on this matter would be appreciated. :-)
This question comes up time and time again, the answer is that you need at least one unit with US5 to negate ranks. You can't combine units to achieve US5.
There was a thread discussing this issue quite recently, I would link you to it but with the URLs changing at any time now, it would be pointless. Besides, it's only on the second page
Yes it needs to be a single unit of US5 at least.
However I have a similar question about unit strength and flank charges. On page 38 of the rulebook, under the section under "extra rank", the book says something along the lines of:
"if the [flanking unit] breaks or flees, or is reduced to a unit strength of below 5 the [flanked unit] regains its rank bonus at the beginning of the following turn."
So does this mean that if I charge a unit of 5 models into the enemy flank, but they lose a model from enemy attacks, that they will still negate enemy ranks as long as they had US5 when they charged? The "flank attack" section is pretty clear that the flank bonus does require US5 at the end of the round, but the previous section definitely makes it appear as though the ranks are broken at the start of combat, and not regained until later. Thoughts?
EDIT: Off topic, but did everyone else notice that poison now affects chariots!? Can't believe I missed that!
Last edited by Fat_Badger; January 15th, 2007 at 03:19.
The Hierarchy Chaotica: Kinky Sex > Change > Disease > Blood
98% of the population actually believes these stupid statistics. If you're part of the 2% of humanity with a brain, put this in your profile.
Going by what you quote here, it seems pretty clear. The unit would negate ranks for that round of combat. Unless I'm reading something wrong.Originally Posted by Fat_Badger
As for poisoning chariots, I welcome the news as a lizardman and dwarf player. Me and my friends always used to poison them anyway - as we said you were really trying to hit the crew riding it. ;-)
Ranks are calculated at the start of combat, so yes, the ranks are lost.
Flank/rear bonuses are calculated at the end, so in the example where the flanking unit is reduced to below five, that bonus is lost.