Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
A few questions that have come up in my reading through the High Elf and Tomb Kings book (whilst trying to dream up an HE army that can possibly deal with lots of TK magic).
Do fire spells count as burning attacks for the purposes of hurting flammable beasties? (their spell descriptions dont say so specifically - common sense would say yes?). Things like flaming sword of Rhuin, fireball etc.
Is Tyrion's sunfang a burning weapon?
Can Teclis cast the same spell multiple times and have all of them remain in effect?
How does drain magic work against TK incantations - they don't have a casting value! (i.e. if you did cast drain magic on a TK priest at the highest level, would he have to discard all of his 4s,5s,6s - and therefore his spells would have a lower power level for dispelling?) Or does DM simply not work?
Similarly - fortune is fickle. I don't know if incantations are miscasts on a double, but I assume they would become so under the effects of this spell?
Have a look just above the lore of fire section in the rules book. I only have the 6th edition rules at the moment due to not playing a lot at the moment. But it should be in the paragraphs above the lore of fire table.
spambot kill tally: 79
[16:19] <@Alzer> Arky's right though
[16:20] <@Kaiser-> I know he is.
[16:20] <@Kaiser-> He usually is.
[16:20] <@Kaiser-> Sometimes it's intentional.
[00:01] <+zubus> i love you, ya skirt wearin nothern monkey! ^_^
I don't have my HE book on me but TK mistcast because they don't cast spells but rather incantations. So anything that mentions power dice like annulian crystal, and drain magic won't work on them. On top of that tomb kings cannot miscast and such fortune is fickle will not effect them. FiF says if you roll a double two you would miscast and then TK book says..well I can't miscast.
But according to the TK book and FAQ, dispel scrolls, dispel dice (and any other items that cancel spells) still work against Incantations, right?
I ask because it should be possible to use the Scroll of Hoeth (Teclis) or the Sigil of Asuryan to dispel and (hopefully) destroy TK incantations, including the effect of the Casket (since it the TK book it says it is cast as an incantation, and under incantations it states that they are cast as spells with a power level of xd6 depending on the type of lich priest).
In the TK FAQ it also states I think that drain magic will still work vs. TKs - but whereas with other races it would stop casting, in the case of TKs incantations are always cast, it would just mean that they were cast with a lower PL (due to fewer dice being counted)
So a TK lich priest under the effect of a 9+ drain magic could only make an incantation if he if he rolled 1s,2s or 3s on his casting dice? (since the higher dice are discarded due to drain magic).
Drain magic does work against TK. The only difference being that if all of his dice were discarded the spell would still be cast on a power level of 0. See the Khemri faq.