Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
So heres my little problem that has got me thinking, pestilence that i have used in many games before (though most of the time not quite casting), a few moments ago i was reading upon the rules and then came upon this "Although Pestilence is not a Remians in Play spell as such, the target unit is affected for the rest of the battle unless Pestilence is dispelled." Now ive always used pestilence as it says, and like a remains in play spell can be dispelled in the enemys magic fase, but does this mean that Pestilence can only be dispelled in the turn its cast or just like a remains in play spell if not dispelled in the turn its cast can be dispelled in the enemys magic fase?
Any opinions or corrections is welcomed, Maxy
Whew, that was hard to read. You need to clean up that grammar, fellow wargamer! :yes:
As for your question, I can attempt to dispel your spell immediately after you cast it. If I let it go, then my only option is to dispel it during my offensive magic phase with remaining power dice.
Pestilence works exactly like the 40k version in the fact that once it is cast (and not dispelled in the phase that it was cast in) then it cannot be stopped.
Eg, your Nurgle mages casts Pestilence on a unit of high elf spearmen, succeding in casting the spell getting a 15 on 3d6, your opponent fails to dispell getting 8 on 3d6 therefor the spell goes off, at the end of that magic phase your opponent is allowed one more chance to dispell any spells in play once again using 3d6 and getting a 12.
After 2 attempts your opponent has failed to dispell the spell and will affect th unit until the end of the game.
Hope that helps
Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.Originally Posted by amishcellphone