Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Hi, I'm having trouble figuring out what saves my horsemen have, and if this combo will even be any good:
First off, the first turn of combat he can't use the shield because the flail is two-handed. But in the following rounds, can he opt to use the handweapon he originally came with instead of the flail? This would allow him to hold the shield, too.
BUT, I was just perusing the rules forum and I came across something else: do units on horseback get a bonus for parrying with a handweapon, or does that only apply to foot troops?
Anyways, I'm confused :wacko: . If someone could explain this to me I would very much appreciate it.
Tyranids: 2500 pts
Imperial Guard: 1000 pts
Witch Hunters: 1000 pts
As far as I can remember the Shield and Hand weapon bonous only applys to models on foot but you can change weapons in the second round of combat so you get a 4 or 5 + save depending on weather or you took light armour as well.
Yes people i know that my spelling and punctuation is awful but I am product of British teaching pollicies so what can I do about it?
For the Handweapon & Shield bonus see Rulebook, p.56 (infantry only)
But weapon switching during a fight is strictly forbidden (Rulebook, p.54) you're stuck with what you chose at the begin of the close combat until it ends one way or another.
There a very few models that can switch weapon during a combat, the only one that comes to mind is brettonian character who can charge with there lance and switch to a magical weapon later on.
You can only change weapons once that combat is over, so lets say you charge a unit and use flails, you make them run and run into a new unit you can then change your weapon if you like. But in the middle of a combat that hasn't finished is a big no no.