Cumulative magic item effects? - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    No worries. Vespasian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Somewhere between here and there.
    Age
    31
    Posts
    553
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    60 (x2)

    Cumulative magic item effects?

    A Lord armed with The Dawnspear inflicts a wound on a unit, making the unit -1 to strike back. If that Lord has the Fimbulwinter Shard, do the effects stack, making a total of -2 to hit?

    Just thinking about taking down a tooled-up Khornate Lord with Chaos Runeshield. I'm thinking of taking either FWS, because he's WS 8, or Merciw's Locus, because the Runeshield negates the effects of magic items making them count as a normal weapon of that type.

    Cheers

    GS

    It has yet to be proven that intelligence has any survival value. - Arthur C. Clarke (1917 - 2008)

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    /botnobot/ DavidWC09's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Wayward, Texas
    Posts
    12,489
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    1283 (x8)

    That's a tough one. I'll move this to rules where you can get some help from the LO rules specialists.

    P.S. It will help if you chant, "Rork...Rork...Rork" and "Tzeentch Lord...Tzeentch Lord...Tzeentch Lord" in a sort of mystical way. But if the incantation doesn't work, there are plenty of other rule-saavy folk out there who can help.

    P.P.S. This is my way of saying, "I don't know."

    ~thread moved~ :spell:
    Painting Videos--My Warriors of Chaos--WHFB Tactica Index
    *************************************************

  4. #3
    Advocatus Diaboli Rork's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Prowling LO, looking for fresh meat.
    Posts
    4,571
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    476 (x8)

    You can have multiple modifiers without any issue, you just can't modify it beyond 6 to hit (should that ever come up). Modifiers to hit "stack" as normal.

    (The rules merely state that "sometimes modifiers apply")


    Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.

    Quote Originally Posted by amishcellphone
    <3 rork. He does all the arguing so I don't have to.

  5. #4
    No worries. Vespasian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Somewhere between here and there.
    Age
    31
    Posts
    553
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    60 (x2)

    Quote Originally Posted by Rork View Post
    You can have multiple modifiers without any issue, you just can't modify it beyond 6 to hit (should that ever come up). Modifiers to hit "stack" as normal.

    (The rules merely state that "sometimes modifiers apply")
    Whee, nice one! Chaos Lords hitting on 5's! That's what I like to hear.

    Blood for the Blood God? Nahhh...

    Cheers

    GS
    It has yet to be proven that intelligence has any survival value. - Arthur C. Clarke (1917 - 2008)

  6. #5
    Son of LO Manu_Forti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    South Australia
    Age
    30
    Posts
    2,076
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    117 (x6)

    What about Ward saves? do they stack? For example, a DE Noble with Crown of Black Iron (5+ ward) and Talisman of Protection (6+ ward), would it become 4+ ward or does the greater 5+ ward simply superceed the 6+

    I'll apologise in advance if it is stated clearly in the BRB, Im @ work at the moment.

    Cheers
    Dark Elves - Game #28 vs High Elves: Draw
    W L D
    21 5 5

  7. #6
    No worries. Vespasian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Somewhere between here and there.
    Age
    31
    Posts
    553
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    60 (x2)

    Quote Originally Posted by Manu_Forti View Post
    What about Ward saves? do they stack? For example, a DE Noble with Crown of Black Iron (5+ ward) and Talisman of Protection (6+ ward), would it become 4+ ward or does the greater 5+ ward simply superceed the 6+

    I'll apologise in advance if it is stated clearly in the BRB, Im @ work at the moment.

    Cheers
    Nah, the rules for Ward Saves are pretty clear; it's the highest one that takes precedence. No stacking here I'm afraid.

    GS
    It has yet to be proven that intelligence has any survival value. - Arthur C. Clarke (1917 - 2008)

  8. #7
    Senior Member Orkbert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Age
    43
    Posts
    575
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    117 (x3)

    I'd say it's quite a risky gamble (not that I don't like them, I like to bet my chances, too)
    For the spear to work you have to wound the chaos lord first. Strength 5 on the charge vs toughness 5 ain't the best bet (and if he actually wields the chaos runeshield then the dawn spear won't work anyways, as you yourself already stated)
    And denying him any strength bonus is admittedly nice, especially for your woodelves' and their remarkable armour save (somewhere inbetween bad and nonexist, sorry for the irony ) but as a chaos lord (or even the asp./exltd. champions) they come with st5 anyways (wounding you on 2+ nontheless :cry: )
    Especially the soul cleaver is your nemesis :ninja:

    After browsing through the woodelves armory, why not taking the annoyance of netlings? Since it ain't a magic weapon the runeshield could negate and it leaves you with enough points for a ward save / regeneration which you might need.

  9. #8
    Bearded Ninja Arklite's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Edinburgh
    Age
    27
    Posts
    2,678
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    451 (x8)

    What about Ward saves? do they stack? For example, a DE Noble with Crown of Black Iron (5+ ward) and Talisman of Protection (6+ ward), would it become 4+ ward or does the greater 5+ ward simply superceed the 6+

    I'll apologise in advance if it is stated clearly in the BRB, Im @ work at the moment.

    Cheers
    the only ward save i know of that stacks is the dwarf rune of iron which provides a 6+ ward. 2 give a 5+ but you may not take three, you have to buy the master rune of spite for that.

    as for magic items stacking id say they do. however they will be different types. ie 2 magic weapons can't stack you can only choose one (dwarves being the exception)


    spambot kill tally: 79


    [16:19] <@Alzer> Arky's right though
    [16:20] <@Kaiser-> I know he is.
    [16:20] <@Kaiser-> He usually is.
    [16:20] <@Kaiser-> Sometimes it's intentional.
    ----
    [00:01] <+zubus> i love you, ya skirt wearin nothern monkey! ^_^

  10. #9
    /botnobot/ DavidWC09's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Wayward, Texas
    Posts
    12,489
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    1283 (x8)

    Annoyance of Netlings is cheaper and more effective.
    Painting Videos--My Warriors of Chaos--WHFB Tactica Index
    *************************************************

  11. #10
    Member erommelus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Age
    38
    Posts
    142
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    -77 (x0)

    Quote Originally Posted by Rork View Post
    You can have multiple modifiers without any issue, you just can't modify it beyond 6 to hit (should that ever come up). Modifiers to hit "stack" as normal.

    (The rules merely state that "sometimes modifiers apply")

    You mean for CC correct? This actually came up yesterday in a game where a unit could be at 7+ to hit (If it is possible) in CC, however I could not find a mention of it anywhere in CC so I said 6's was tops for CC and that the 7+ to hit applied to shooting... was I correct?

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts